We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Vernal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Vernal to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Vernal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1205 West Highway 40, Vernal, UT 84078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Shanghai
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It looks like it is advertised, modern and comfortable.
Nice, modern and spacious rooms.
Breakfast is the classic motor inn industrial type, but it is for free.
Internet is also for free. I struggle to understand how 4/5 star hotels can still afford to charge for Internet if all those inns have free Internet.
Tiny indoor pool.
Mexican takeout just in front of the hotel.
Portacot available, although we struggled to assemble it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    84
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
86
62
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Out West
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Vernal Utah is a small town growing up in the very Northeast Corner of the state. Fed by an oil and gas boom, much of the lodging is taken long-term by oil rig workers, as a result some short term lodging can be hard to find.

My recommendation is if you can book into this place, do it. It was very clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced. Check in was expedient. I liked that the clerk had been empowered to make decisions then and there.

The only gripe I have about this property is that the even numbered rooms front Vernal's main street - US40 - and there are manners of big rigs plying this road at all hours day and night. Thus the room is noisier than I would have liked. The property is building a second wing - this one will be perpendicular to the highway and, in doing so, should be quieter all around.

Room Tip: Even number rooms front the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vernal is the biggest city east of Salt Lake and on the way there I was concerned about what we'd find. Pleasantly we found Vernal to be clean and pleasant. Our stay at the Springhill Suites by Marriott was very comfortable. The hotel is only 3 years old so everything is modern and still very well kept. The rooms are a very efficient use of space. The linens are not 5 star quality but still very acceptable and again, very clean and new. The rooms have a bar area that also has a microwave and refrigerator. Inside the microwave we found plates and plastic ware. The design of the hotel is one of the newer "boutique" designs so your big screen TV turns and can be watched from either the sitting area or bed in the sleeping area. The bathroom is separated with the stool and a sink in one area with a closing door and the shower and a second sink in another area with a closing door. There is an iPod docking station that is also the alarm and there is a desk area complete with light, outlets and a very comfortable ergonomic desk chair if you are there on business. Free Wi-fi too.
In the morning from 6AM to 10AM there is a breakfast buffet served in an area adjacent to the lobby. They have a waffle maker and batter machine for home made waffles.That is a big hit with guests and you need patience to wait your turn. They had beautiful fresh strawberries and pineapple. Several kinds of muffins, cereals, biscuits and scrambled eggs and sausage patties. I ate eggs, strawberries and a waffle. All very good and extremely filling. The coffee bar offered some boutique blend that I think was strong but they offered vanilla (and other flavored) creamers to tame the taste. The buffet is included in the price of the room so it's difficult to complain about something that is essentially free.
There is no on site restaurant but Cafe Rio, Little Caesars, subway and several other restaurants are in the same parking lot.
We booked our room through the Marriott site and put in for a AAA rate. I have to say that the Springhill Suites in Vernal was as nice as some of the hotels we have stayed in that were 3 times as expensive. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The modern and light decor is a refreshing difference from most places. The suites are large, comfortable and well equipped, including an iPod dock. One exception is the absence of towel rails. There is an excellent free breakfast with a good range of items, including porridge and delicious Greek yoghourt. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Well located for Dinosaur National Monument, but don't expect to eat well in Vernal, a sea of fast food joints. MoJo's diner is above average.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The suite we had was not a suite. It had a computer work station between a sitting area and the bed, but no real separation between the two. Room was clean, but towels reminded me of the ones from high school gym days. The shower (no tub) was nice and big, but with very little water pressure. The beaded and translucent curtains in the lobby mads one think it was a bordello. That might be amusing to some, but we found it cheap-looking. The free breakfast was okay, but there was nowhere to sit, and by the time we schlepped our food to our room it was cold. The staff members whom we encountered were pleasant. Rather difficult to find entrance as one had to weave through a strip mall parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lustenau, Austria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed only one night and were very happy with the choice. The room was very spacious, with the semi partition between sitting area and the bed, separate toilet and bathroom and with walk-in shower. Bed very comfortable. Service professional, nice and welcoming. We had a very good night sleep, no noise despite the motel being located at the main road/highway.
Breakfast was adequate, all the basics plus scrambled eggs and self-made waffles. It was not super tasty but one could get the carbs and proteins needed and since it was included in the price who would complain? Wireless internet was also included as it is in all Motor Inns we stayed in so far. There was also small indoor pool that, judging by the squeaks of delight made by children, was very much appreciated. 5 minutes walk from the hotel was the Mexican restaurant and across the road Walgreen.
Great value for the money, will recommend to any traveler, single or with family who goes through Vernal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Good indoor pool and hot tub. Loved the split bathroom. Toilet and sink in one room, shower nd sink in the other. This aw great for kids. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Vernal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Vernal

Address: 1205 West Highway 40, Vernal, UT 84078
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Vernal 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott in beautiful down town Vernal, Utah is ideally located just a short drive from Dinosaur National Monument. Our SpringHill Suites is a great place to stay and is just minutes from Vernal's historic museums including; The Museum of Natural History and The Western Heritage Museum. Guests will appreciate easy access to a great selection of restaurants and retail stores located within walking distance from our hotel. Business and leisure travelers will find that our SpringHill Suites location offers outstanding amenities, including an in room mini-fridge and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet access, free onsite parking and a free hot breakfast buffet. While at our hotel, take time out and revitalize yourself in our heated indoor pool or fitness center. When choosing a venue to host a meeting, our meeting and event rooms can provide you with the space and services you need. SpringHill Suites by Marriott. Assure, Inspire, Renew, Celebrate TraveLife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Vernal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites Vernal Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Vernal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.