We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the dinosaurs, stay for the breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Vernal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Vernal to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Vernal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1205 West Highway 40, Vernal, UT 84078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vernal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverside, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Come for the dinosaurs, stay for the breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a nice, new, and clean hotel. The breakfast is awesome. Eggs, turkey bacon, fruit, oatmeal, granola and basically everything you could ask for. Bed was comfortable. Plenty of pillows. Shower was nice with side sprayers. Nice TV. Very spacious. Cafe Rio is next door! It's delicious. Great location for visiting Dinosaur National Monument. It was just reopened and it's a great park. The landscape is absolutely beautiful out there!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are about the same. There may be some with better views then others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    85
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
62
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

OK, a pretty good experience overall: good facilities, clean and modern, but very expensive for a rural part of Utah.

The hotel is clean and modern (being pretty new helps, of course), and the lobby is trying to be chic, as are the rooms. I got the impression that these are trying to compete with the Aloft chain, but not quite managing to be as stylish and quirky as the latter. Aloft seem to me very European in style, but the Springhill Suites in Vernal feels to me as though is is American *trying* to be European.

The room was nice, with a seating area separated from the sleeping area by a glass screen and built in desk, which I liked. It was clean, but the light switches and outlets were very loose: poor construction. Overall, the room was quite small. The bed - as in all Marriott properties in which I've stayed - was very comfortable.

Breakfast was OK, but I deplore the increasing use of disposable trash utensils/plates/cups/etc. I know this is cheaper in terms of cash (less staff required), but it's very wasteful and destructive of resources.

The lady who checked us in was efficient, but wasn't particularly helpful when we asked a couple of questions about Dinosaur National Monument, a major national tourist activity close to Vernal, and for which Vernal is the obvious jumping-off point.

Finally, price! one night's stay cost almost $160 before tax, whereas a night at the Aloft at PDX was only $77. Very, very uncompetitive, and I can't help but feel that this hotel is gouging by virtue of being the only decent place within about 50 miles: we enjoyed our stay, but the price left a nasty taste. Of course, Marriott is also a Utah-based chain, and they have a strong hold on accommodation in UT.

This very much felt like a one-night only hotel: more than that, and the room would feel cramped, and the wallet would feel even more violated...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel was the gem of the trip. The lobby is amazing - looks very Phillipe Starck with hanging room divider out of metal balls, modern furniture like I have seen in Paris hotel lobbies.

The color theme of the rooms was pale sea green, very restful, I would use this color in the master suite of my own bedroom at home.

Free internet, large indoor pool. Computers in the lobby for internet and for printing boarding passes.

Buffet was sparkling clean and had all the bells and whistles - sausage, eggs, 2 waffle makers, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and pastries.

The counters in the bathrooms in the rooms were Corian-like material and all fixtures were Kohler. My husband was delighted by the fact the toilet was in its own little room with handbasin and the shower and main sink/mirror were in another separate room enclosure.

We like this hotel so much we canceled at our next Best Western and extended another night here even though it was a bit more money.

Don't stay anywhere but here in the Vernal area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Large suites, very clean, practically new facility, conveniently located to Resturants and services and very courteous, friendly, and helpful staff. The room is well appointed with a cavernous walk-in closets - perfect for those extended stay trips where storage becomes premium. I also liked the many outlets for today's traveler - iPhone, iPad, laptop, etc that all need plugs - well you won't find this lacking here and all conveniently located. The work area nook is excellent as well for light inroom work. Then the microwave and refrigerator just bring things home and round it out. They also have a well appointed exercise room. Also, their breakfast area is good as well. Food is good and there's plenty of it and they keep it replentished and there's good variety. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in town. My only complaint - I just couldn't get over the modern styled decorating decor - I just hated it - I'm going what were they thinking. Nevertheless, it's a fine facility and a great location - I recommend it indeed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel was perfectly clean and the decor was especially pretty for a hotel of its type. The price was steep for the middle of nowhere though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here overnight recently while in Vernal. First trip to Vernal in 20 years and was surprised to see a hotel in Vernal decorated with such a contemporary decor. We were given an oversized accessible room which let us spread out. Separate rooms for the shower and toilet are a plus. Breakfast was good for hotel buffet style fair.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Springhill Suites, located in Vernal is off of Main Street. It shares a parking lot with a Café Rio and a Subway. But don’t let that deter you, this is a great hotel.

Inside the decor might be called Miami Madness Meets Vernal. Turquoise and orange walls (don’t ask me how but it kinda works) and amenities such as a 24 hour fitness center, an indoor pool, laundry facilities ($1.75 for wash and same for dry) and an outside grill and fire pit.

The rooms as mentioned by other reviewers have these sliding doors to a “shower and sink” set up, and another that is a sliding door to a “pedestal sink and toilet” set up, with a closer in between. Some reviewers seemed to think this did not afford as much privacy as comfortable. You can not see through the frosted glass, but sounds do carry, so I understand the concern.

The overall room layout (aside from the non insulated bathroom walls) was excellent. A well laid out study area with couch was a nice touch. The beds are comfortable, and there were plenty of plugs in the room (this family of four with their smart phones and computers thanks you.)

The beautiful plasma tv was fine, and the free wireless was appreciated by my teens.

Breakfast was a step above continental: eggs, waffles, fruit, bagels, juice, cereal, hot oatmeal and the coffee/tea area is available 24 hours.

We had a problem with our sink being slow to drain. Housekeeping came right away. The front desk was cheerful and helpful. They also stock quarters for the laundry room if you need to make change.

So, great place to stay in Vernal, and a nice hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Vernal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Vernal

Address: 1205 West Highway 40, Vernal, UT 84078
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Vernal 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott in beautiful down town Vernal, Utah is ideally located just a short drive from Dinosaur National Monument. Our SpringHill Suites is a great place to stay and is just minutes from Vernal's historic museums including; The Museum of Natural History and The Western Heritage Museum. Guests will appreciate easy access to a great selection of restaurants and retail stores located within walking distance from our hotel. Business and leisure travelers will find that our SpringHill Suites location offers outstanding amenities, including an in room mini-fridge and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet access, free onsite parking and a free hot breakfast buffet. While at our hotel, take time out and revitalize yourself in our heated indoor pool or fitness center. When choosing a venue to host a meeting, our meeting and event rooms can provide you with the space and services you need. SpringHill Suites by Marriott. Assure, Inspire, Renew, Celebrate TraveLife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Vernal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites Vernal Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Vernal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.