We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Tropic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Save Saved
You added Bybee's Steppingstone Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Tropic B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Tropic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bybee's one night on our way to Bryce and Zion, based on a friend's recommendation. The motel is very inconspicuous and almost hard to find, though it is located right on Rt. 12, the Scenic Byway. The room was clean and everything worked. For the price we had absolutely no complaints. Also the owner/manager was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
33
81
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The price was right, and the room was soooooooo clean and light and airy! We were initially given a room in the back and when I mentioned I would prefer a room in the front, we were given one. I would stay here again, and I hope to return to see BRYCE CANYON again.........so I might get the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here when visiting Bryce Canyon National Park. This is a really great little motel. The location was excellent, the room was immaculately clean (quilts on the beds were a nice touch), the bed was comfortable, the wifi was fast and the guy at the front desk was really nice. Definitely a cut above what one would expect for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night in may, while visiting Bryce Canyon NP. Situated a 15 a 20 minute drive away from Bryce NP entrance it is a pretty good place to stay. When we pulled up we thought it was a very charming little motel and it proved to be so.

The motel itself is pretty small, having only 8 rooms. Check in went smooth and the room we had was situated at the backside of the motel, away from any noise that traffic may cause. The room had everything we needed for a night and even more. There was a small fridge, a microwave, a big flatscreen tv, WiFi, and a decent and clean bathroom. The double bed we had was pretty comfortable.

The old-fashioned guestbook in the room gave this motel that extra personal and charming touch. Very nice!

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside don't face the road, so are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed two nights. The room is very clean, has a flat screen TV, and the wifi speed is good. It has a kettle so that we can boil water for instant coffee and tea. The only problem is, the fridge doesn't seem to work, but we don't really need to use it anyway.
For the price we paid, it is definitely great value, and the motel isn't far from Bryce National Park. Compare it with other motels, this one is actually very good. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay here. I emailed another person who wrote a review and they had a good experience. We stayed one night here while we saw Bryce Canyon then headed east on Rt 12. The motel is fine. 8 rooms that are clean. The ice machine is outside and a little slow, but gave us the ice we needed. Nothing fancy, but a good nights sleep. Remember that you are in the middle of no where with not many choices. The 3-6 pm check in time is a little different. No one is at the motel otherwise. It is owned by a husband/wife team that live close by. The pizza shop across the street is decent, fair prices, decent food, service is a bit slow. There is a general store/supermarket/gas station down the street. 15 minutes from Bryce Canyon.

Room Tip: Half the rooms were on the street side and the other half on the other side of the building. We sta...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The motel is situated really well in the town of Tropic. It took us within 20 minutes to drive from the motel to watch the most beautiful sunrise at the SUNSET point of the Bryce National Park. The motel was very cozy and warm and free from any noise / interruption. The room that we stayed was a good queen size bedroom, with a good view of good landscaping. We selected this motel because of its location, affordability and amenities provided. Even though the hotel did not have the coffee and condiments, you should be able to find it from a store nearby. Otherwise, you can bring your own instant coffee because the room had a hot water pot. You can boil the water from the outlets.

By the way, there were plenty of electrical outlets within the room. We did not have to scramble to locate regarding where they were.

If you bring your own foods, the room had the refrigerator and microwave. That should be plentiful to make your own breakfast / dinner or boiled your own coffee.

There were plenty of lodgings in the town of Tropic and at the Bryce Canyon’s entrance. The hospitalities that Bybee's Steppingstone Motel had provided us were more than we could even explain in words. They were distinguished, awesome and outstanding. Tyrell, the host, was exceptional in every way. He provided us with several recommendations of where and when to visit the park and what spots that we should not miss. In an addition to that useful information, he even pointed out the places that we could visit at the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument as well as the visitor’s center in a nearby town.

This is a small, cozy and well-managed motel. We will not hesitate to visit and stay there again for many more nights when we visit Bryce Canyon National Park and GSENM in the near future.

If you have the opportunity to visit the Bryce Canyon National Park in the near future, you should give this motel a try.

The WIFI signal was strong enough to go on the Internet without any problem.

For us, we believe that this motel provided us the best value, comparing of what they offered versus the very expensive one at Best Western.

Can't wait to go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: * The rooms that face the west side might be warmer due to the sunlight. This might be good during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steppingstone Motel Is a small family operated motel with very clean and comfortable rooms and a relaxed atmosphere. Each room is personalized and different from anything you will find in the area. We are located in on Scenic Byway 12 In Tropic Utah and is the Steppingstone to the Grand Staircace-Escalante National Monument. The Visitor's Center is only 5 miles south of the motel. The beautiful Mossy Cave hiking trail is 3 miles from town and is certainly worth the time to investigate. Take a look around and enjoy the splendor. AAA approved/ recommended by Lets Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.