We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Save Saved
You added Bybee's Steppingstone Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Tropic B&B and Inns
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed two nights. The room is very clean, has a flat screen TV, and the wifi speed is good. It has a kettle so that we can boil water for instant coffee and tea. The only problem is, the fridge doesn't seem to work, but we don't really need to use it anyway.
For the price we paid, it is definitely great value, and the motel isn't far from Bryce National Park. Compare it with other motels, this one is actually very good. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
32
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay here. I emailed another person who wrote a review and they had a good experience. We stayed one night here while we saw Bryce Canyon then headed east on Rt 12. The motel is fine. 8 rooms that are clean. The ice machine is outside and a little slow, but gave us the ice we needed. Nothing fancy, but a good nights sleep. Remember that you are in the middle of no where with not many choices. The 3-6 pm check in time is a little different. No one is at the motel otherwise. It is owned by a husband/wife team that live close by. The pizza shop across the street is decent, fair prices, decent food, service is a bit slow. There is a general store/supermarket/gas station down the street. 15 minutes from Bryce Canyon.

Room Tip: Half the rooms were on the street side and the other half on the other side of the building. We sta...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The motel is situated really well in the town of Tropic. It took us within 20 minutes to drive from the motel to watch the most beautiful sunrise at the SUNSET point of the Bryce National Park. The motel was very cozy and warm and free from any noise / interruption. The room that we stayed was a good queen size bedroom, with a good view of good landscaping. We selected this motel because of its location, affordability and amenities provided. Even though the hotel did not have the coffee and condiments, you should be able to find it from a store nearby. Otherwise, you can bring your own instant coffee because the room had a hot water pot. You can boil the water from the outlets.

By the way, there were plenty of electrical outlets within the room. We did not have to scramble to locate regarding where they were.

If you bring your own foods, the room had the refrigerator and microwave. That should be plentiful to make your own breakfast / dinner or boiled your own coffee.

There were plenty of lodgings in the town of Tropic and at the Bryce Canyon’s entrance. The hospitalities that Bybee's Steppingstone Motel had provided us were more than we could even explain in words. They were distinguished, awesome and outstanding. Tyrell, the host, was exceptional in every way. He provided us with several recommendations of where and when to visit the park and what spots that we should not miss. In an addition to that useful information, he even pointed out the places that we could visit at the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument as well as the visitor’s center in a nearby town.

This is a small, cozy and well-managed motel. We will not hesitate to visit and stay there again for many more nights when we visit Bryce Canyon National Park and GSENM in the near future.

If you have the opportunity to visit the Bryce Canyon National Park in the near future, you should give this motel a try.

The WIFI signal was strong enough to go on the Internet without any problem.

For us, we believe that this motel provided us the best value, comparing of what they offered versus the very expensive one at Best Western.

Can't wait to go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: * The rooms that face the west side might be warmer due to the sunlight. This might be good during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was convenient to the park. We have a new room that is very clean with nice big TV, ref and me. This was a great value, totally worth it. I will definitely recommend this place and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a pleasent surprise as we did not know what to expect
our room was at the rear spotlessly clean and large with all the furnishings you would expect in a city hotel at half the price.
The only problem we had which we cannot blame the owners for was one noisy family in the two rooms either side of ours. When they finally settled down after midnight we were woken at 6 am with one of them knocking on our door mistaking our room for their friends room.

Room Tip: Room at rear is possibly quieter away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This 9 room motel is a gem. There is a hot pot to boil water but no coffee pot. There was a bedside clock and a power strip near ref I use a cpap which I need a bedside fortunately I travel with a long extension cord and my own minicoffee pot. It would have otherwise been easy to get coffee just down the street. I had a room in the back the outside sitting area was a wonderful plus. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Beautiful little hotel. They even let us check in a couple hours early. Everything was neat as a pin. You can tell the owner's pay particular attention to cleanliness. The mattress was firm and comfortable. There are a couple minor items you might want to know before you stay here though. They don't have a bedside clock, and the electrical outlets are sparse (but just plan for that and you'll be ok).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steppingstone Motel Is a small family operated motel with very clean and comfortable rooms and a relaxed atmosphere. Each room is personalized and different from anything you will find in the area. We are located in on Scenic Byway 12 In Tropic Utah and is the Steppingstone to the Grand Staircace-Escalante National Monument. The Visitor's Center is only 5 miles south of the motel. The beautiful Mossy Cave hiking trail is 3 miles from town and is certainly worth the time to investigate. Take a look around and enjoy the splendor. AAA approved/ recommended by Lets Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.