We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Bryce Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Canyon Inn to your Saves list
Stone Canyon Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for Bryce Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our 2 night stay at Bryce Canyon, during a 2 week tour of Utah and Arizona. What a good choice. I exchanged a couple of e mails with Dixie to confirm what we should bring with us, which was really useful and saved us a shopping trip when we got there. Our party comprised 2 couples and we stayed in a cabin, which was really good value for money. (There aren't many cottages you can book for just 2 days in the UK). The accommodation was spacious but cosy. Dixie advised us on how best to spend our 2 days, given we were expecting a snow storm on our 2nd day!! So we walked the Navajo loop plus a little more on the first day in blue skies and sunshine, followed by a wonderful evening soak in the hot tub. We then awoke to light snow and did the Peek a Boo Loop from the Tropic Train - just down the road from Stone Canyon Inn. We bunkered down in the cabin for the afternoon snow storm, which is when the cabin came into its own. We were as warm as toast, and really comfortable. Bryce Canyon is truly wonderful (our favourite stop on the trip) and Stone Canyon Inn (+ cabins) is a perfect base for a visit. (PS The Inn looked good too. We were envious of the smells at breakfast!)

Room Tip: All the cabins look the same in layout, and are nicely spread out with good views, so pick any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    75
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
98
272
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We called on our way to Bryce and were surprised they had a opening. We were given the guest cottage which could house an entire family and then some. Bernie greeted us and gave us a brief tour, and lay of the land. He was very cordial and answered all our questions. Our accommodations were very comfortable and mad for a good night sleep. Our morning breakfast was a treat and very delicious. We had a great oppurtunity to meet the other guests and compare notes on our vacations. The location of the inn is beautiful and the night sky was breathtaking. A great place to stay if you visit Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent just one night with Dixie, our host, at The Stone Canyon Inn, they are quite close to the Bryce Canyon National Park. The Inn is well appointed and the rooms are of decent size. We stayed in The Wildflower Room, it has beautiful views of the scenery in the area. The bath area is a bit small, but not so much as to be uncomfortable. Dixie offered advice fitting for a short stay and served a delicious breakfast to sent use on our way the next morning. We would certainly stay at Stone Canyon for any visit to the Bryce area.

Room Tip: This Inn is two story, if you have mobility issues. There are first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins on the property and in the evening you wouldn't know that you had neighbors. Very quiet.The owners were perfect, checked us in, gave us some advise about the trails and hikes in Bryce Canyon and then left us alone. The hot tub in the evening after walking all day was perfect, the stars were indescribable. Go

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in the inn. Room was very comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts unusual and delicious. Hosts friendly, lively, very interesting and gave tips on special sites to visit.
Overall a very enjoyable stay; in my mind better than being in the park (views are much better!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My fiancé and I happened across this incredible place unknowingly by virtue of the internet. We were looking for a place to stay near Bryce Canyon N.P., which it is a little off the beaten path from Bryce, but totally worth the 20 minute or so drive out of the park. The Stone Canyon Inn is incredibly appointed and managed by truly wonderful hosts. The price was totally worth it, in fact, I would say that it is an incredible deal given the location and what the nearby places have to offer for the same cost in lodging. Our room was fabulous! It had a spectacular view of Bryce Canyon N.P. and surrounding area. Our room also had a large Jacuzzi tub with large window looking out on the scene as well. We loved it so much, that my fiancé was inquiring about getting married there. Enough said! Definitely worth the stay. We wish we had stayed longer than one night, hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very clean and unique. 2 couples stayed at a 2 bedroom small lodge. Well appointed - furniture, kitchen TV, bedding. Hot tub. Very nice and friendly hotel owners. This is bascially a group of small cottages seemingly built recently. Even had a gas fireflace which was a real nice touch for the winter night we stayed here. Wish we could have stayed longer but a snow storm was predicted so we left early. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Canyon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Canyon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.