We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little better than a tent...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Pioneer Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bryce Pioneer Village to your Saves list
Bryce Pioneer Village
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 S. Main St., P.O. Box 119, Tropic, UT 84776   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Ivins
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little better than a tent...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're coming on a big tour group bus, I guess this place would be OK. I was not happy that a bus started up its engine outside my window very early in the morning; after all, the main reason you go to a hotel is to get a good nights' sleep. I was even unhappier when my shower turned cold in the morning. Rude awakenings with very little amenities. I will not be back - ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    52
    23
    37
See reviews for
32
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Bryce Pioneer Village works, but does not impress.
Anyone who has made the Bryce Canyon trip knows the hotel situation. If you don't get into Ruby's you have to stay in Tropic (7 miles outside of Bryce).
Bryce Pioneer Village is one of those places in Tropic.
The hotel is built in a bungalow style with several buildings. I was first slotted into a room in the new building. It's across the river bed from the hotel lobby. Wifi did not work (bad signal). I moved across the river for the second night. Rooms are older on that side.
As the room was just for sleep, shower and leave it was fine.
Plus side:
1) Staff was great.
2) Walking distance to breakfast and store. I am all about park the car and stroll.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important, stay in rooms less than number 44. Over 44 is across the river. Try to get 24...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived at hotel on part of fly drive booked though ATI. There seemed to be three sizes of wooden cabins. Wife suspected we would get the small ones at the rear. She was not wrong. The cabins can best be described as a large block of very small rooms. We found the room had one small bed a scruffy shower which had a strange type of small worm climbing from behind the tiles. Poor lighting, one ceiling light, window that did not lock properly and the main door had poor quality lock, so poor that we placed a chair behind it whilst sleeping. I suspect that this hotel save the worst rooms for ATI customers. I will be contacting ATI to advise them. Did not bother to complain as we suspected the complaint would have fallen on deaf ears

Room Tip: Dont even go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed at many budget hotels around the country. This is one of the worst.

The positives are it had a bed, running water, and heat. The tv was digital, but only had around 10 channels. The best positive is that it is close to Bryce Canyon.

The room was dirty and old. The floor was not level, the bed was very hard. The hot water in the shower was not consistant and it did not drain. The outside door did not seal. They advertised Wi-Fi internet, but it was not working. No breakfast, but they had coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If we hadn't arrived so late after spending a wonderful day in Bryce Canyon followed by a buffet supper in Ruby's, we would have found somewhere else to stay. It spoilt our 'perfect' day. I refused to set foot in the shower cubicle, use the towels or sleep in the bed, curtains were dirty and hanging off the wall,
It was booked through ATI and we have asked them to make sure that the remainder of the hotels booked for our self drive are not going to be like this......our hotels were supposed to be 'standard' or 'upgraded'...this falls a long way short of standard

Room Tip: Do not book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. This place is so dirty, dingy, old, unkept. The beds are terrible probably 20yrs old. The carpets are stained and unvacumed, the sheets and towels are so dirty and old you dont even dare touch them. The two front desk staff that we talked to Aly and Shauna are rude and dont seem to know what they are doing. Also I woke up to sores all over my arms due to bed bugs... DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Pioneer Village 3 times over the last 2 years. The first time was not so good (new ownership and they didn't give a crap). They have done a very nice job getting the place back in order (original owners) and have made huge improvements to the grounds and house keeping. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling on a Motorcycle! If you want to tent camp or get a neat, clean, simple room as a base camp it is perfect. The folks running the facility are kind and will make your stay very nice. They also gave us great tips on "Adventure Riding" in the area and loved our BMW Motorcycle group. If you are looking for a great place to hang your Helmet, this is the place at a very fair price. DustMark....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Pioneer Village

Address: 80 S. Main St., P.O. Box 119, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bryce Pioneer Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bryce Pioneer Village! Recently under new Management, we are Bryce Pioneer Village strive to make your stay a great experience. We have Single Queen Motel rooms and Cabins as well as Two Double Bed Motel rooms. Some select Cabins and Motel rooms have extra Amenities such as Fridge/Microwave, and kitchen space. We also have an on site Restaurant, "The Showdowns" (Please call ahead to see if we are open with entertainment on select nights.) There is plenty to do here in Tropic, including a secret back trail to Bryce Canyon National Park from here called Tropic Trail. We are making a lot of improvements in regard to our way of business and look forward to sharing what we have done with you! - Christopher Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bryce Pioneer Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Pioneer Village Tropic, Utah
Bryce Pioneer Village Hotel Tropic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Pioneer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.