We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sundance Resort to your Saves list
Sundance Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8841 N Alpine Loop Road, Sundance, UT 84604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“rustic elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

beautiful cabin rustic with peace and quiet. nice easy hiking trail to a beautiful water falls. very pleasant staff. Most of the staff was very welcoming. you can take Jewelry and pottery classes. Close to Provo if you felt you needed a little more "city Life". Would go back again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so pleased to hear that your stay at Sundance Resort was enjoyable. We hope that you were able to do everything that you wanted during your visit and are so happy to hear that our staff was able to make it more enjoyable for you. It is our hope that you and your spouse will return to Sundance soon for more peace and quiet as well as to try some of the other activities and Events that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    37
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
95
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This resort is very pretty, in a perfect location for skiing, mountain biking and hiking. However, we chose it because it is owned by Robert Redford and looked very nice on their website. It is very nice but we were not impressed. You stay in lodges/cabins in the mountains. It is very expensive to stay there, eat there, spa treatments and hire the equipment for all outdoor sports available. The cabin we stayed in was very small, no view at all from the verander, only of the very overgrown shrubs that had not been attended to for months. The cleanliness was very average. Only the bare basics was done each day, toiletries were not replenished, hairs left in the bath from the previous occupier, etc. Food in the restaurants was very good but very expensive in both restaurants.
If you just want to use the lodge/cabin to sleep and shower in and you can afford it, then it's fine but not if you were looking for something slightly outside Salt Lake City for beauty, luxury and service. Didn't tick any of those boxes for us I'm afraid. Great location if you are into winter and summer outdoor sports though.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a luxury lodge for better comfort, views and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Sundance and that you didn’t receive the quality of service that you expected for the price that you paid. We as a Resort pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of all our lodging accommodations and do our very best to uphold that standard and instill it in each one of our employees. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review for we will look into the issues that you had during your stay and insure that all of our staff is properly trained. Our policy is for each lodging unit to undergo a full cleaning by the housekeeping staff daily and that all amenities are always fully replenished. We apologize that this policy was not thoroughly or properly followed during your stay.
As for the overgrown shrubbery, we do try to keep our units somewhat camouflaged amongst the natural landscape of the property to preserve the beauty of the area, however, we do not want it to interfere with the quality of the views or comfort of our guests and we will have our grounds crew look into the area around the unit that you were in during your stay.
We would love for you and your spouse to return to Sundance Resort one day and give us the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations as well as provide you with the quality of service that is expected at a top lodging destination. Please feel free to contact us with any other questions or concerns you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Only came for a daytrip of hiking. We took the family (grandparents, wife and I, and toddler) up the chairlift and hiked to Stuart Falls and back down to resort. Grounds are beautiful and the scenery in the area is amazing. I would definitely look into staying here for a few days. It seemed very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
The hike to Stuart Falls is definitely a must during the summer time at Sundance. We have guests who return year after year to do this hike with family and friends and we are so glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy it. We would love to have you and your family return to Sundance Resort for a few days of rest and relaxation in one of our many mountain cottages, and to experience some of our other recreational activities, special events, restaurants, and of course our Spa. Please let us know if you have any questions about the Resort or our lodging accommodations, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had read about Sundance Resort, but one must experience Sundance Resort. The grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious and the staff very friendly. My husband and I took advantage of the art classes offered in photography, pottery and jewelry. We hiked to Stewart Falls and enjoyed a relaxing couples message. Most importantly, there is a spirit here that captures your soul and makes it hard to leave. I know we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Karen, we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. It sounds like you and your husband were able to enjoy a variety of the activities that we have to offer at Sundance Resort. We are especially glad to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the various classes that are offered in our Art Shack. Many visitors don’t realize the Resort has so many different unique and creative experiences for our guests to participate in. We hope that you and your husband are able to return to Sundance and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We had been planning and trying to get to Sundance for some years.
Eventually we got there this year.

What a huge disappointment... Huge being an understatement.

A lot is lost in the details, and it feels like a place trading on a name and a famous patron/ owner, rather than somewhere that I would expect to be world class.

As we arrived, it wasn't hugely busy. We had driven down from Jackson in Wyoming , and as such were somewhat weary.

The welcome at reception was nice enough, and we were given the rules of the resort. NO NOISE after 10:30... Quiet time.... Awesome we thought.

We venture up to the cabin, with the young bellboy who helped us settle in.

All good so far.

After going out for dinner, we relax back at the cabin.

Firstly the blinds failed... We had to get creative to get some privacy.

10:30 comes and goes, and our neighbours are still making an unholy noise. We leave it until 11, and then called down... Oh, we will send security up sir... ( great! )... Until no security comes, and the racket still goes on until midnight or beyond.

Next morning .. Down at reception, we make a point of asking what failed..

It has to be said, the receptionist was plain confrontational at first... Until the truth about Sundance comes out....

THEY SIMPLY CANT STOP the noise, from "owners"... What? What owners?

Well the dirty secret that at the time of booking is, this is a vacation ownership resort. Only renters get the noise rules it seems... Owners, have no such restrictions.

Huffed we go out for the day.

Upon return, after gettin a bit of shopping to cook in that night... We find the fridge totally broken...so iced up, that I could get a fist between the door and the frame! No good to store fresh food.

Back to reception for another frosty confrontation.

Without going into detail, we got moved... A larger cabin, but what a hike to get to it. From nearest carpark to room was up a lot of steps ( at altitude ). This place would be utterly unsuitable for anybody not so good on their feet.

After moving rooms, we report that my wife's phone charger was in the first room. We ask the concierge if they can retrieve it.

The night came and went without incident after that...

Still no phone charger.

To this day... Still no phone charger... A few emails later... Before and after getting home, no response.


Sundance is not cheap, nor is it good, luxurious, or truly represented.

We won't be going back, that's for sure. Highly disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Let me just start with a sincere apology for the experience that you and your wife had while visiting Sundance Resort. I am sorry that you were offered excuses rather than solutions and that our staff did a poor job of following through with some of the issues you encountered. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review as we look at this as an opportunity to help better train our staff and make the Sundance experience a positive one for everyone who visits. Many of the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay should have been easily fixable by our staff or should not have been an issue in the first place. To start, we try to have our housekeeping and maintenance staff do regular inspections of all of our units to ensure that everything (blinds, refrigerators, etc.) is in working order for our guests. As for the noise from the guests staying next to you, the information that our Front Desk staff gave you was incorrect. All guests, including the owners of the units, are required to follow the rules and policies that we have in place at the Resort to ensure comfort and enjoyment for everyone. We apologize that you were given the wrong information and that one of our Safety Officers did not make it up to speak with the disruptive guests. There may have been an emergency somewhere on property that they had to attend to that distracted them from checking in on your unit and the disturbance. We will continue to train our Front Desk staff on all of the appropriate lodging and property policies as well as ensure that our Safety Officers are checking on disruption calls as quickly as they are able to. Lastly, we would like to apologize for the concierge and bell staff not being able to retrieve your wife’s phone charger for you. We would be happy to replace the charger and send you a new one. And, again, we will be speaking with our entire concierge and bell staff to ensure they follow up on all guest requests like this one and make sure it has been taken care of in a timely manner, especially before the guest leaves the Resort. We again apologize for the unfortunate experience you had and would love to have you return to Sundance and give us the chance to offer you an experience that would both live up to and exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathankot, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is simply the place to be during the festival. Great staff, great food, great fun. If you want it for the festival, book early early early. This one takes planning and its all worth it . As an Indian visiting America, I had to have all my plans in order well in advance. I may only get to do this once in this lifetime, but it was worth it both in terms of money and in terms of experience. Thank you Sundance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had such a wonderful experience during your stay at Sundance Resort, especially during the Film Festival. It is such a unique and exciting time of year around the State and the Resort and we are thrilled you were able to come to Utah to experience it. You are also wise to share the information that it is much advised to book early for this busy and exciting time of year. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that you will make it back to stay at Sundance again for the Festival or any of our other events and recreational activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Sundance resort was founded by Robert Redfort in 1969. It is the one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have been in America!! If you, my dear tourist has this luck to visit Utah please o and spend one night there. You will never forget it. I am recommending this place as the place of fresh air, fresh green, cold water-flow, wild animals, good wine and food, luxury apartments and outdoor cinema!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Those of us who are lucky enough to work at Sundance Resort like to think of it as our home away from home, and we are so glad to hear that it felt like this for you as well. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the true beauty and peace of Sundance and see what Mr. Redford has envisioned for his Resort all these years. We hope that you will be able to visit Utah and Sundance Resort in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Road, Sundance, UT 84604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundance Resort, founded by Robert Redford in 1969, is a four season luxury mountain resort that radiates the art of untouched nature. We offer alpine skiing and snowboarding in winter; hiking, biking, fly fishing and horseback riding in the summer and a variety of art classes and spa treatments year round. Choose one of our rustic rooms, suites or Mountain Homes with full kitchens to begin your Sundance journey. Our distinctive dining experience is a delicious exploration into fresh, local, and organic dishes showcasing the farm-to-table philosophy. Also, hosting an event at the base of Mt. Timpanogos surrounded by nature is a surreal experience to add to any special occasion, retreat or business meeting. Relaxtion awaits you at Sundance Mountain Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.