We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I never want to leave this beautiful place!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sundance Resort to your Saves list
Sundance Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8841 N Alpine Loop Road, Sundance, UT 84604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"I never want to leave this beautiful place!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I had read about Sundance Resort, but one must experience Sundance Resort. The grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious and the staff very friendly. My husband and I took advantage of the art classes offered in photography, pottery and jewelry. We hiked to Stewart Falls and enjoyed a relaxing couples message. Most importantly, there is a spirit here that captures your soul and makes it hard to leave. I know we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Karen, we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. It sounds like you and your husband were able to enjoy a variety of the activities that we have to offer at Sundance Resort. We are especially glad to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the various classes that are offered in our Art Shack. Many visitors don’t realize the Resort has so many different unique and creative experiences for our guests to participate in. We hope that you and your husband are able to return to Sundance and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    39
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
60
102
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham,uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We had been planning and trying to get to Sundance for some years.
Eventually we got there this year.

What a huge disappointment... Huge being an understatement.

A lot is lost in the details, and it feels like a place trading on a name and a famous patron/ owner, rather than somewhere that I would expect to be world class.

As we arrived, it wasn't hugely busy. We had driven down from Jackson in Wyoming , and as such were somewhat weary.

The welcome at reception was nice enough, and we were given the rules of the resort. NO NOISE after 10:30... Quiet time.... Awesome we thought.

We venture up to the cabin, with the young bellboy who helped us settle in.

All good so far.

After going out for dinner, we relax back at the cabin.

Firstly the blinds failed... We had to get creative to get some privacy.

10:30 comes and goes, and our neighbours are still making an unholy noise. We leave it until 11, and then called down... Oh, we will send security up sir... ( great! )... Until no security comes, and the racket still goes on until midnight or beyond.

Next morning .. Down at reception, we make a point of asking what failed..

It has to be said, the receptionist was plain confrontational at first... Until the truth about Sundance comes out....

THEY SIMPLY CANT STOP the noise, from "owners"... What? What owners?

Well the dirty secret that at the time of booking is, this is a vacation ownership resort. Only renters get the noise rules it seems... Owners, have no such restrictions.

Huffed we go out for the day.

Upon return, after gettin a bit of shopping to cook in that night... We find the fridge totally broken...so iced up, that I could get a fist between the door and the frame! No good to store fresh food.

Back to reception for another frosty confrontation.

Without going into detail, we got moved... A larger cabin, but what a hike to get to it. From nearest carpark to room was up a lot of steps ( at altitude ). This place would be utterly unsuitable for anybody not so good on their feet.

After moving rooms, we report that my wife's phone charger was in the first room. We ask the concierge if they can retrieve it.

The night came and went without incident after that...

Still no phone charger.

To this day... Still no phone charger... A few emails later... Before and after getting home, no response.


Sundance is not cheap, nor is it good, luxurious, or truly represented.

We won't be going back, that's for sure. Highly disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Let me just start with a sincere apology for the experience that you and your wife had while visiting Sundance Resort. I am sorry that you were offered excuses rather than solutions and that our staff did a poor job of following through with some of the issues you encountered. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review as we look at this as an opportunity to help better train our staff and make the Sundance experience a positive one for everyone who visits. Many of the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay should have been easily fixable by our staff or should not have been an issue in the first place. To start, we try to have our housekeeping and maintenance staff do regular inspections of all of our units to ensure that everything (blinds, refrigerators, etc.) is in working order for our guests. As for the noise from the guests staying next to you, the information that our Front Desk staff gave you was incorrect. All guests, including the owners of the units, are required to follow the rules and policies that we have in place at the Resort to ensure comfort and enjoyment for everyone. We apologize that you were given the wrong information and that one of our Safety Officers did not make it up to speak with the disruptive guests. There may have been an emergency somewhere on property that they had to attend to that distracted them from checking in on your unit and the disturbance. We will continue to train our Front Desk staff on all of the appropriate lodging and property policies as well as ensure that our Safety Officers are checking on disruption calls as quickly as they are able to. Lastly, we would like to apologize for the concierge and bell staff not being able to retrieve your wife’s phone charger for you. We would be happy to replace the charger and send you a new one. And, again, we will be speaking with our entire concierge and bell staff to ensure they follow up on all guest requests like this one and make sure it has been taken care of in a timely manner, especially before the guest leaves the Resort. We again apologize for the unfortunate experience you had and would love to have you return to Sundance and give us the chance to offer you an experience that would both live up to and exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathankot, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is simply the place to be during the festival. Great staff, great food, great fun. If you want it for the festival, book early early early. This one takes planning and its all worth it . As an Indian visiting America, I had to have all my plans in order well in advance. I may only get to do this once in this lifetime, but it was worth it both in terms of money and in terms of experience. Thank you Sundance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had such a wonderful experience during your stay at Sundance Resort, especially during the Film Festival. It is such a unique and exciting time of year around the State and the Resort and we are thrilled you were able to come to Utah to experience it. You are also wise to share the information that it is much advised to book early for this busy and exciting time of year. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that you will make it back to stay at Sundance again for the Festival or any of our other events and recreational activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Sundance resort was founded by Robert Redfort in 1969. It is the one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have been in America!! If you, my dear tourist has this luck to visit Utah please o and spend one night there. You will never forget it. I am recommending this place as the place of fresh air, fresh green, cold water-flow, wild animals, good wine and food, luxury apartments and outdoor cinema!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Those of us who are lucky enough to work at Sundance Resort like to think of it as our home away from home, and we are so glad to hear that it felt like this for you as well. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the true beauty and peace of Sundance and see what Mr. Redford has envisioned for his Resort all these years. We hope that you will be able to visit Utah and Sundance Resort in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My twins and Husband surprised me with a weekend getaway to Sundance for Mothers Day. Just what I needed. :) The SPA was relaxing and peaceful. Chloe gave me one of the Best facials with massage I've ever had! And of course the Tree Room was a 10 like Always! My favorite restaurant in Summit County. If you need a getaway from your busy, cell phone, work, kid life, this is definitely The place to go. The stream going thru Sundance is my favorite sound to relax next to and read a book, take a nap. And if you want to get a hike in, definitely ride the chairlift up and hike to the waterfall!
Thank you Sundance for a memorable weekend! 10's all around!!
Tania- Very happy wife/mom :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Tania, thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at Sundance Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant time while you were here. What a fun and thoughtful Mother’s Day gift from your family. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of the activities and accommodations that Sundance has to offer in the spring and summer. We are so glad that the Spa and Tree Room staff was able to help make your stay here so enjoyable. We hope that you and your family will return to Sundance Resort again soon for another stay and perhaps one of our many other outdoor recreational activities or Summer Events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suncrest Utah
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the second time my wife and I stayed in the cabins at Sundance, and much like the first it was everything we hoped for. The private hot tube was awesome, we were able to have some cheese and fruit as we watched the snow cover the resort all from the comfort of the hot tube. The fireplace was great along with the bed, the staff was very helpful and polite and made us feel like we were the only ones on the mountain. Can't wait to go back, if you wondering if Sundance is worth the trip, stop, and do it. Redford hit a home run with this spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Bart, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your trip to Sundance Resort back in January. We are so glad that you chose to return to Sundance again and had such an enjoyable stay. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the comforts that our lodging accommodations have to offer as well as take pleasure in the beautiful winter atmosphere. We hope that you will be returning again soon, and please let us know if our staff can help with any questions or information that you might want on future visits to Sundance Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with a few friends during mid February. The food is great, especially the breakfast. The staff are also exceptionally good. And the rooms, you get the feeling like you are in a cabin in the woods. Real cozy and comfortable, just like the bed. I enjoyed my stay here. Only complaint was that the room service was not prompt. The view out here is also great. Even more so after we went to the bar and knocked back a few cold ones. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Road, Sundance, UT 84604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.