We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mountain connections to Alta via free bus or Mineral Basin lift.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort

Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort
Hwy 210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Snowbird, UT 84092
800-453-3000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Snowbird
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Resort Communities
Activities: Skiing, Heli-skiing, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mountain resort offers sleek downhill skiing trails for expert skiiers.
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Big Mountain connections to Alta via free bus or Mineral Basin lift.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great mountain. Plenty of Blue and Black runs and enought double blacks to keep everyone challanged. Not alot of condos to rent, nice cliff lodge. Not a lot of nightlife. Shortest drive to Salt Lake of all the resorts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    36
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not much open in fall.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We love being in the mountains and if you are a hiker or biker, you will love the fall here. However, and understandably, midweek is nice and quiet, but not much is operating. The main gondola is running but all other activities are shut down.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best Snow-powder in the World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For the skiing and snowboarding aficionados, this is one of the must experience places, where 2 mountains (Alta & Snowbird) kiss, and their copious amounts of snow (sometimes over 500 inches a year) and the dryness of the Little Cottonwood Canyon, create unique and unmatched conditions. There are slopes for everyone, all the way from the top of the tram to the bottom, though proportionally the advanced skiers have more to pick from. Spring skiing is particularly warm and sunny. The restaurant at the base makes great lunches, people are friendly and good looking. Best time to ski is after a fresh snow dump, when powder is fluffy, but the resort takes good care of snow management and they groom it the day after the snowfall. There is ample parking and a bus shuttle to additional parking away from the resort. Local accommodations in the canyon are scarce, but the resort is a mere 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City. If you like snow sports, you must try Snowbird & Alta. if you wish to ski both mountains, lift tickets could get pricey. There is a ticket discount option in the city where you can get 2 day ticket for $130, I am told the best deal in town. Best to google prices on line before you come. They do have reduced prices for the lil ones, and for beginners there is a decent ski school. Mountain is pretty well marked, but for the "hotdogs"out there there are lots of shoots and rough spots.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wild West
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Long Drive, Great Snow, High Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We did this for our son and we are glad we did to know that we will stick to SnowBasin as we felt the snow was as good. The lines were very long and everything was very costly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The More Experienced Skier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ok, So the rest of our trip was great until we showed up here. This mountain is a little more difficult than the rest (Canyon, Park City, Alta). My wife and I rode the Gondola up to the top of the mountain because one of the representatives said thier were "Greens all the way down". My wife and I are novice skiers and ended up getting stranded on a blue that we had to take to get back over to the greens. If someone tells you they only want to ride the greens, they probably mean it. The traversing shelves here were very narrow and sometimes a little scary. My wife quit skiing after the incident in the morning and I kinda backed off also... I even saw a little girl crying on a "Green" on the right side of the Mountain. It was by far the steepest Green I saw the whole trip.

Anyway,. Im sure this would be great if we were a more advanced couple of skiers, but having to ride back to the gondola on a snowmobile due to someones bad instructions kinda ruined our mojo..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort also viewed

Alta, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort to your Saves list