We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The circulation problem in the room needs to be repaired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Snowbird

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Snowbird to your Saves list
The Inn at Snowbird
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Resort Entry #3, Highway 210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The circulation problem in the room needs to be repaired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

When checking in, we were told that the inn had an airflow problem. We were asked not to use the fireplace, which we did not. Someone, however, did use their fireplace and there was quite a burnt smell in our room. The smell woke us up at night and it wasn't pleasant. I hope the problem is repaired soon. We did enjoy the pool and hot tub, though. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would have liked a room facing the ski trails, but our balcony faced the road, so the view wasn't as nice. Also, it would be great if the inn served a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

The staff was friendly enough. The parking/entry is a pain and I almost got hit twice. The room smelled like creosote, and after 2 days, so did all of my clothes. The place was fairly clean, but there were Nerds (those disgusting little candies) in the carpet. Seriously, how hard is it to miss pebble-sized, fluorescent green candy when you're vacuuming? The Murphy bed is not super comfortable and you have to move all the living room furniture to make enough room to open the stupid bed. The biggest issue is the fire hazard in the bathroom (see pics). People have obviously turned the heat lamp on and left the inner bathroom door open. Seems like a reasonable thing to do, since there is an outer door and leaving the inner one open helps with the steam. Well, it's reasonable until you consider that the top of the door ends up being right under the heat lamp. The lamp is hot. The door is flammable. Not good. I mentioned this to the front desk person and he claimed this was the first they had heard of it. I would think someone in housekeeping or maintenance would have notice that the bathroom door was charred. I noticed it as soon as I walked in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hotel is unusual in that it consists of (I believe entirely privately owned) condo units, most of them in rather small studios called "efficiencies". And efficient they are - the single room feels spacious since you sleep in a Murphy bed that you fold away during daytime; that way, you have enough space for comfy furniture on which you can relax and enjoy the fireplace (ours was woodburning and wood was supplied). The building is from the 70s, but classy, updated, well designed and well maintained. There is a very responsive 24 hr reception, a nice lounge with coffee and daily free papers to take away. There is a small outdoor pool, steamroom and jacuzzi. The views from the windows/balcony are great.

The most important feature is obviously the great ski hill in 3 minutes walking distance (you can leave your ski there overnight, free of charge). I cannot stress enough that you should be an advanced or at least good intermediate skier feeling very comfortable on all blue/black-blue runs elsewhere. Most runs at snowbird are a half to a full degree more difficult than the runs with the same rating at the bigger Colorado resorts we usually visit (that is, for instance, a run that is rated blue at snowbird is black-blue or black elsewhere). If you count on easy blue and green runs ("big emma" for instance is rated green but easily blue given the slope, and with an ice cover as we encountered in spring, an absolute pain), your options are very limited, and you will be stressed by pretty narrow catwalks that you need to use for all runs from the peak. Since the trails are quite steep, they are relatively short and often interrupted by catwalks. That being said, the scenery and the snow are spectacular.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We went for 5 nights over New Year's. My husband and I wanted to go to Snowbird because it's known for getting the most snow. From there we knew we wanted to be as close to the mountain as possible - and this hotel had the best rates. It was a good value - the room was old, simple, a bit worn. The murphy bed was a bit odd, because you had to move the furniture all around to put it down and then again in the morning to use any of the furniture. The shower was weird and didn't have good water pressure. On the positive side, the pillows and bed were more comfortable than I was expecting when I walked in, and the pool and hot tub were great. The TV also didn't function very well. But honestly - it serves it's purpose as a place to crash after an amazing day on the mountain. The only other think I would tell other travelers is to know that there isn't much going on at Snowbird - the Apres Ski scene is practically non-existent and there are only a few restaurants but the restaurants were decent - the Mexican place was the best one. We were there to snowboard and we got 2' of fresh snow on an amazing mountain so we were happy. I would stay here again if on a budget trip - but if not, I would splurge to stay in one of the other properties that has a bar and restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

If you're familiar with Snowbird (and neighboring Alta), I think you'd be smart to stay here over most other hotels in Little Cottonwood Canyon. The Snowbird buildings are modern and efficient, and our room had a great view of the slopes, a kitchen and a fireplace. (And the skiing at Snowbird pretty much tops anything in the USA. Challenging hill, amazing snow.) Everything was clean, and the staff definitely cater to skiers; they were definitely young "ski bum" types, but we found them to be great to talk to about finding the best trails. If you've never been here before, it's important to know that the base area of Snowbird is nominal; this isn't a "village" type atmosphere when you're up at the mountain. Room rate was great for staying so close to the lifts -- probably less than a 5 minute walk through the parking lot. We visited the Cliff Spa which is top-notch.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a studio with a fireplace. A young man brought wood by every evening so we could bask in the warmth of a roaring fire. What a treat. The Inn is small which provides a very intimate experience. The front desk was very helpful with all requests. We also enjoyed the fitness room, steam room, and pool/hot tub. This is a wonderful retreat with easy access to Snowbird Center where lifts are located. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

There was some good to the stay: the snow. It snowed so heavily which is perect for die-hard skiers, but not for families.

The Bad:
1. Horrible reception. Young clerks out of college could care less about you. I felt like I checked into a college domitory or youth hostel. We had a major problem with our stay and felt as if we were talking to the wall.
2. Clausterphobic building: the walls of the building and the rooms are 4 feet of concrete to survive avalanches, nuclear blasts, or whatever. The resort is in a valley already so there is already a feeling of being trapped.
3. Poorly kept rooms. Water damage in the ceilngs and walls. Motel 6 type ammenities in the bathroom. Old bathtubs. Family did not want to take a shower.
4. No village: the resort people lied and said there was a nice village. There is a small path between buildings and hotels.
5. With no village, there is no night life. None.
6. Poor restaraunts and service. Thought the maire d at one of the restaraunts was great and summed it up, "do not think that this like Park City."
7. Way overpriced for what youy get. I would recommend readers to stay in Park City and commute to ski here.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — Hotel and the management.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Snowbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Snowbird

Address: Resort Entry #3, Highway 210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Snowbird 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Snowbird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Snowbird Hotel Snowbird
The Inn At Snowbird Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Snowbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.