We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again, Never” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Snowbird

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Snowbird to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Snowbird
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Resort Entry #3, Highway 210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Again, Never”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

There was some good to the stay: the snow. It snowed so heavily which is perect for die-hard skiers, but not for families.

The Bad:
1. Horrible reception. Young clerks out of college could care less about you. I felt like I checked into a college domitory or youth hostel. We had a major problem with our stay and felt as if we were talking to the wall.
2. Clausterphobic building: the walls of the building and the rooms are 4 feet of concrete to survive avalanches, nuclear blasts, or whatever. The resort is in a valley already so there is already a feeling of being trapped.
3. Poorly kept rooms. Water damage in the ceilngs and walls. Motel 6 type ammenities in the bathroom. Old bathtubs. Family did not want to take a shower.
4. No village: the resort people lied and said there was a nice village. There is a small path between buildings and hotels.
5. With no village, there is no night life. None.
6. Poor restaraunts and service. Thought the maire d at one of the restaraunts was great and summed it up, "do not think that this like Park City."
7. Way overpriced for what youy get. I would recommend readers to stay in Park City and commute to ski here.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — Hotel and the management.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed at the Inn in Feb. 2008 and were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews on this site. Highly recommend getting a room with a mountain view. Spectacular sights of the mountain. The room was spacious, large bathroom and plenty of storage space for all of your ski gear. There was also a locker room area in the hall of our floor for ski equip. Dining options are a bust at the Inn, as there is not a restaurant in the hotel. A quick walk over to the Snowbird center and you have many dining options. The Inn is a great place to stay. Can't wait to get back to Snowbird next season!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC,UT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We live in Salt Lake City and thought it would be fun to run up to the bird for a romantic evening before the thanksgiving holiday. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the bistro at the hotel. We checked into our room and we were both immediately disappointed.

The Beds where fold down and hard as a rock. The pillows where disgustingly dirty and wafer thin. Worst of all there wasn’t even central heating. You have one electric heater along the base board of the wall. When the heat was turned on there was a constant ticking that lasted until 2am. We finally decided to forgo the warmth in order
to be able to sleep. You have got to be joking me. I wasn't expecting Stein Eriksson’s, but you would expect some basic comforts such as a clean, comfortable bed and heat. The next morning we where pleasantly awakened by a maintenance worker whistling around 7am(ehh). We checked
out at 9am and I addressed my concern with the manager and she not understanding at all gave me the run around. We had an awful night at the inn and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Food at the bistro
  • Disliked — the crapy room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Snowbird is an absolutely phenomenal location in the summer as well as the winter. It is BEAUTIFUL!! I scheduled a birthday retreat for my husband and I at The Inn at Snowbird. We arrived and checked in without incident. We unpacked a bit, relaxed a bit, and even decided to dine in for dinner. After dinner we were hoping to cool off our room so we attempted to adjust our thermostat. It was at that point that we realized there were no air conditioning units in the rooms. Luckily our room was situated at the very end of a hall so we opened our balcony door and drape and opened our bedroom door. After a couple of hours expecting the temperature to drop in the room, it did not. Eventually because we were wanting to go to sleep, we had to close the room door. Our neighbors next to us were obviously experiencing the same thing because their balcony door (directly adjacent to ours) was wide open as well. We simply could not close that door without baking ourselves, but we simply could not sleep because our neighbors were watching very loud television late at night.

Essentially, our night was soured. I would recommend this resort and their stellar service any time... maybe just avoid July.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Lack of Air Conditioning!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

This place is about the skiing. Great location, you can walk to the lifts. You pay a premium to stat right at the mountain rather than in Salt Lake. The rooms are pretty basic - our studio had a pull down bed and we added a cot. It was a little tight - the couch fit only two people on it, and the TV was tiny. But the people are friendly, there;'s a great hot tub, free Internet access in the lobby and a cozy reading room available. This is NOT Aspen. But if you want decent accomocation, right at the mountain, and don't care about frills and are willing to pay a premium for location, this is the place. Also, you do NOT need a car. Use the Canyon transportation service from SLC airport - plane landed at 10:30 a.m. and was skiing 90 mins later!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small size
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I stayed a couple days at the Inn the 2nd week of Jan '06. The staff was very accomodating and the room was clean and spacious. They allowed me to check in early so I could ski the day of arrival and had a storage area to place my stuff in after checkout while I skiied the day of departure. It was more quiet and had less traffic than the other places I visited at Snowbird.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

Great location right near the slopes, not exactly ski in/ ski out, but close enough to walk. Hotel is a bit pricey for what you get, but it's the location. Room was spacious but only moderately well maintained. Bathroom light fixture was broken with only a bare light bulb in the ceiling. Nice view of the mountain. Staff was friendly. Wireless internet in the lobby. Outdoor hot tub and heated pool were appreciated after a day on the slopes. Ski lockers provided were handy. Highly recommend the Wildflower restaurant next door - very nice atmosphere, good service and food and not too expensive.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Snowbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Snowbird

Address: Resort Entry #3, Highway 210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Snowbird 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Snowbird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Snowbird Hotel Snowbird
The Inn At Snowbird Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Snowbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.