We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could have been rated excellent, however....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This could have been rated excellent, however....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I hate to be negative on this place, but there were some issues that we should not have had to deal with for a resort of 'world class calibre.' First, we were not advised the studios were not air conditioned (which was OK because the staff was very good about bringing us a fan); the tub had probably not been cleaned since ski season or they would have noticed the slow drain; the coffeemaker had someone's used coffee packet in it; the HVAC grille in the tub/shower had about six months of dust on it. The hide-a-bed was like sleeping on a cement slab. NOW, the good news: The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and generally helpful. The things to do are tremendous! You will have fun here, just be sure your room is up to your expectations. Oh, and don't bother with the breakfast buffet; it was pretty unimpressive for the price.

Room Tip: Avoid the studios unless they have air conditioning (we stayed there in July).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
55
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We attended a conference at theCliff Lodge and Spa. It was our first trip to Utah and after the conference we did touristy day trips toPark City, Big Cottonwood Canyon and the Great Salt Lake. This was the perfect location for these trips. We plan on attending the conference in a few years and look forward to staying there again. The facilities were terrific and the Snowbird Complex was awesome? The Peruvian Chair lift is a must do activity. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: We requested a mountain view. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights. The rooms are average. We had 2 queens with a small couch. Our view was of the mountains a nice plus. The pool is small and several times chairs were hard to find. The spa and workout center on the top floor is nice but you must be 16 or older. They wanted proof of age of my 16 year old son and wouldn't take my word for is age. So we had to use the crappy 1st floor fitness room with limited equipment for him. This was a huge turn off. We ate several meals here and found the service to be slow. Food was good.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've stayed here many times before since we have a conference that's held here every two years. On this recent visit, as we've done occasionally in the past, we booked a room on the spa level which included access to the spa pool.

Our room was a large room with a view of the mountains. It had a large chair with ottoman, king sized bed, small couch, table, and desk. The bathroom is large enough, with a large sink area, and interestingly a window into the bedroom (plus a curtain!). Our conference has always provided meals, but the buffets in the Aerie restaurant have been excellent as has the conference food.

The hotel is also within walking distance of more of the Snowbird complex including the tram, outdoor activities, and more restaurants. There is a pool for the hotel in general (mostly mobbed by kids when we've visited) and a smaller quiet pool at the spa.

We only see two downsides to this hotel: (1) the internet has been very slow in the past, though recently under Ibahn it has improved, and (2) there really isn't anywhere to sit outside in a shady area and just enjoy the view - the only real sitting areas outside are the pool.

Overall, though, Cliff Lodge is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the 3rd time my family and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge for a weekend during the summer. The rooms are clean and nice--nothing fancy. Watch out for that big room-facing window in the bathroom. Luckily there's a curtain for guests who prefer their privacy.

The outdoor pool and hot tubs are fun, and have nice views of the surrounding mountains. Staff is uninterested but polite. Dining options (at least during the summer) are limited and unexciting. And a bit pricey for what you get in terms of selection and taste. The beautiful location is what makes the Cliffs somewhere worth staying--at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The higher floors are more likely to have mountain views, unless blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just spent a wonderful week at the Cliff Lodge. We had a 9th floor 2 room, fully furnished condo with 2 balconies. One balcony had a 2 person Jacuzzi. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We hiked each day in Alta, the town just minutes away, and took the tram up the mountain to hike to Mt. Baldy. All the hiking was very enjoyable with great scenery and the occasional wildlife (deer & moose). After hiking, we spent the afternoon on the top floor lounging by their outdoor pool and hot tub. On the top floor is also a fitness center and spa with tread mills and weight lifting equipment. Many activities are offered by resort for adults and children. Just check their website to see all there is to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge and it was a great stay. The great 8th floor room was complimented by welcoming staff, from the front desk to housekeeping staff. The complimentary valet service was a very nice and unexpected extra, too.

Snowbird is amazing in winter, but don't hesitate to visit in the summer; very easy to get too and plenty to do/see.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.