We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cliff Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just spent a wonderful week at the Cliff Lodge. We had a 9th floor 2 room, fully furnished condo with 2 balconies. One balcony had a 2 person Jacuzzi. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We hiked each day in Alta, the town just minutes away, and took the tram up the mountain to hike to Mt. Baldy. All the hiking was very enjoyable with great scenery and the occasional wildlife (deer & moose). After hiking, we spent the afternoon on the top floor lounging by their outdoor pool and hot tub. On the top floor is also a fitness center and spa with tread mills and weight lifting equipment. Many activities are offered by resort for adults and children. Just check their website to see all there is to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
55
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge and it was a great stay. The great 8th floor room was complimented by welcoming staff, from the front desk to housekeeping staff. The complimentary valet service was a very nice and unexpected extra, too.

Snowbird is amazing in winter, but don't hesitate to visit in the summer; very easy to get too and plenty to do/see.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

OK, a disclaimer about the middling score: I stayed here when you could not ski, and most of the negatives in my review would not apply in the winter. When the slopes are open I imagine guests would be thrilled to have such easy access to the slopes, a ski school, shops for equipment, and every other ski-oriented facility you could want.

In the summer you still have fantastic views of the mountains. The rooms are spacious and modern, and there are a couple of pools and a spa that were pleasant enough. The staff is super-friendly. There is a slide open for the kids, and you can take a tram up to the top of the mountain and walk down the ski slopes. It is not ideal hiking, since the slopes turn into a wide, treeless clearing, but you do have some nice vistas.

In the summer some of the limitations of the place do become more noticeable. There are few places to eat at the resort (and even fewer to drink) and they close early. The mountaintop
location is gorgeous, but it means that going anywhere else requires a car with a good GPS,
time, and a strong stomach to withstand winding mountain roads. The nearest rental car place (down the mountain and a town over) is extremely inconvenient to use, and the shuttle service only serves a few places, so I think it is essential to either come with a car
or rent one at the airport.

The lodge, and the resort more generally,
is a labyrinth: probably the result of too many retrofitting and rehabs. Any place you want to go seemed to require ducking around extra hallways and stairs, and the signs tend to disappear at the crucial moment. The maps of the place are confusing
to start with, and in the summer they are obsolete since they focus on amenities that are seasonal. And of course you need to be walking past and around many closed ski-oriented facilities. l found that the staff were always more than happy to direct me, but still after a few days here I was exasperated at having to ask how to get from A to B for the 10th time.

Still,
I liked the place well enough, and if you are going in ski season you should check some of the other reviews to see how it stacks up against the competition.
.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was here for a conference and stayed 4 nights. It is beautifully located in the mountains with scenic hike paths around. Also this is definitely a family friendly place

Pros:
1) Spa & premium gym access ($20)- great roof top gym facilities, hot tub and eucalyptus sauna. Definitely good to work out with a view of the mountains. I felt well relaxed after
2) Scenic tram through the mountains ($12)- the view from 13000ft is amazing
3) Great roller coaster and rides through the mountains($12/ride). Fun for kids and adults!

Cons:
1)EXPENSIVE! To give you a sense, a bowl of cereal costs $12 and a regular pizza $25. With nothing nearby (including grocery stores) get ready to spend or travel 30 min to get to the city
2) Location. Although it is beautifully situated in the mountains. Its 30 minutes from SLC
3)Rooms were a tad bit old but nothing too bad.

If you want to getaway and are willing to spend, this is definitely a great scenic trip for families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cliff lodge needs a face-lift! Use the valet parking, the parking lot is well removed from the registration desk (have to walk under an underpass to the other side of the main road and up the hill to park). We were disappointed with our room. Shower pressure was less than expected. It was plenty hot which was very good, but pressure even fluctuated when someone (whether in the room or next door) flushed the toilet. The shower head was very difficult to manipulate from one spray setting to another. Our sink had several cracks in the basin and thought it would drip or leak. The wood finish of the cabinetry is scratched and fading due to age and poor maintenance. Needed to be refinished, sanded and stained again. They did have good portions of the complimentary shampoo, conditioner and lotion containers. The shampoo had a good consistency and smelled nice. The "Cable" TV had very few choices and not all channels were HD and mostly poor quality viewing. Our pillows were acceptable. Some staff were more helpful than others, but nothing to rave about. We had banquet food due to the business nature of the trip and I would say that it was adequate but not fantastic. The breakfast in our conference room was okay, but less than expected. It was very clean and we had plenty of towels to use which were fine. Pick a room (most likely an odd numbered room) that faces south. Much more spectacular views. We were in a north (even numbered room) facing room--not so hot. Rooms higher up have better views of the mountains than lower level rooms. Can't tell you about activities or the restaurants because of the business nature of our visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room (most likely an odd numbered room) that faces south. Much more spectacular views. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The best part of our stay was the valet & baggage service. We booked a room for 2 nights and was so upset with the service, we left and forfeited our second night stay. This is a hotel that doesn't take the time to let their guests know about any activities or that if you wanted to have brunch, reservations are required. The lights in the bathroom didn't work so we asked them to be fixed. A note was left in our room that they wouldn't be fixed until the next day! The towels felt like sand paper and In order get anything to eat you might as well have gone down to Salt Lake to get food because it would have been quicker. We live in the valley and take quite a few weekend getaways and this is a place we will NEVER visit again. Out of towners beware.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, find another resort in the mountains. Go to park city or the canyons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a pleasant time during our stay. Everything was perfect. The room was clean and specious. Very close to lifts and slopes. And the most important, the ski was excellent. Would recommend to anyone who likes fresh snow and high hills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.