We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The complete ski experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cliff Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The complete ski experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Even though this lodge and resort are a short drive from Salt Lake City, this feels like a destination resort, not a day-trip resort. What struck me was the lack of being surrounded by high-end condos that you find in places like Vail, Beaver Creek, and most Colorado resorts. This feels like what ski resorts used to be like. The Cliff Lodge is very well run and met all of our needs from clean spacious room to good ski lockers to the convenience of ski in/out. It is not as plush as places like the Aspen St. Regis where I was recently stayed but it is architecturally beautiful and provides an experience that is unique and one I gladly look forward to doing again. We loved the Aerie bar, a spot you could hang out for a number of nights and not get tired of. Great entertainment and outstanding service. Snowbird doesn't have the number of restaurant venues and shops like Vail, Breckenridge, Aspen, but that in itself is refreshing. It is not hard to pop into Salt Lake city (which we did one night) but we never felt the need to. The Forklift restaurant (right across from the tram) rocks. Best food and service I have ever had in ski boots during ski breaks. Outstanding breakfasts before you get on the slopes in the morning. The skiing at Snowbird is equals the hype, no need to get into details. I have nothing bad to say about our visit which started in the middle of a blizzard and ended on one of those amazing sunny ski days you can never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
55
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Cliff Lodge many times in the past 15 years and it was always for location. Right on the ski slopes. My complaints in the past had mostly to do with customer service. It was always slow, and uninspired, service with a lot of indifference. It has been about 3 years since I last stayed at the Cliff and I am very happy to say that the customer service has greatly improved. People were overly helpful and engaged and any problem was taken care of without hesitation. That was true at the front desk, the stores in the hotel and at the ticket window. I will be back again for the skiing always, and now for the service. Food could still need an upgrade but it is good enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay here with a small group. The resort is conveniently located and great for ski in-ski out. Lockers are located near lift ticket sales and a rental/repair shop and you can literally put your gear on and ski down the slope. They are assigned by room number with a locker code you put in similar to a room safe. The spa level rooms on the 9th floor correspond to an area of lockers with more space between the rows and benches right by the lockers to sit down while you put on your gear. The other lockers were more closely spaced and crowded and no benches nearby.

Rooms were average size with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Most had a nice view of the mountains. The spa level rooms on the 9th floor allows access to the pool and hot tub on the 9th floor, which was less crowded and with minimal walking distance outside to the pool and hot tub. Our room in particular (938) was right under the restaurant upstairs and we could hear the band's music until 11 or so at night. Otherwise it was conveniently located by the elevators and right by the spa entrance. The rooms and bathrooms were well maintained and cleaned, but the decor was a bit outdated. Some towels were softer and fluffier than others. Robes were comfortable. I wish the shampoo/conditioner/bodywash/lotion/soap was better. Even the kleenex in the rooms was rough and I ended up using the ones in the hallway bathrooms by the restaurant.

What really sets this place apart is the spa. While not the fanciest or newest spa I have been to, it had all the conveniences and features needed. The views of the mountains from the lounge area and hot tub/pools were spectacular. The changing rooms were quiet, comfortable, clean and private with separate showers and nice shampoo/conditioner/soap and well stocked with comb/shaving cream/razors, etc. My husband and I had 80 minutes massages after skiing on our last two days here. We both requested the same therapists the second day since the massages were excellent. I swear mine was a mind reader and knew exactly what I needed after skiing and for relaxing. Other people in our small group also had massages with other therapists and all of them reported excellent treatments. I really think the spa would be one reason I'd love to return.

As for food, the Cliff Lodge itself had some pretty decent options. We had lunch at the Atrium the day we arrived and they have decent sandwiches/salads/soups. For breakfast, we had the buffet ($18, includes drinks) in Aerie all 4 mornings. Food was average, with the standouts being the custom omelet bar and smoked salmon and what tasted like fresh squeezed juice. Pre-made scrambled eggs were a bit dry, bacon a little overcooked some mornings, bagels stale every morning. For dinner, we at at Aerie twice. I love that they had sushi options, but portions were small, and overall just average. Really not much better than some grocery store sushi. Lunch options were decent on the slopes, with several in the main plaza area, and other at the base of some of the lifts, or top. Mostly pizza, burgers, salads, soups, etc.

As for skiing, the conditions were perfect in late February/early March. Tons of snow, mostly powder and little ice, with mostly clear skies, especially by later morning and early afternoon. It is definitely true that the Green runs here are really more like Blues elsewhere. There were plenty of more difficult blue and black runs, so more options for the Higher intermediate/advanced skiier, but enough to keep the beginner and lower intermediate level skier busy and challenged. Lessons were excellent as well with very patient and encouraging ski instructors. I took lessons all three mornings, and went out again the afternoon by myself. I would especially recommend Warren who always had a positive spin on things and really showed and explained things well and knew how to correct and when to push us a little more. The groups were small and really placed similar level people together. I saw many of the instructors working with the kids and they all seemed excellent with them.

Overall, the resort was clean and well maintained, with friendly and helpful staff. It was convenient and had all of the features I could think of to make this a great stay.

Room Tip: Spa level all the way! Avoid 938 and 941 if you don't want to hear the live band playing above y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just got back from a few days at the Cliff Lodge. Everything was ok but nothing was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced ($18) with a nice variety, but it needed to be refreshed more often. Dinner was good but the steak seemed like it had been cooked a little earlier and kept warm. The rooms were clean and nice size, but there was mold on the cloth drape that covered the window between the shower and the room.

There is very little to do other than ski/snowboard at this hotel. If that's all you are looking for great, but if you want to supplement your trip with a little shopping and a different place to eat then you will need to drive to Park City.

The employees seemed to match the food, they were there and did the job, but not one stood out in my memory for doing anything beyond basic expectations.

I can't speak to value as I did not pay the bill.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited The Cliff Lodge & Spa in February. Stayed in a mountain view room with king bed and sleeper sofa. Room was at the far end of the hotel and VERY quiet. This particular room was also quite large with plenty of space including sofa, large chairs and a dining table with four chairs. Actually had nine people in room for pizza dinner one evening, quite comfortable. Hotel was clean, facilities good overall. Staff was average, nothing special to note. The facility is ski in ski out which is of great importantance to me. The ski locker facility was very nicely arranged, seperate locker for each room and sttaff was on hand to assist in the locker area. Bathroom was clean although a bit dated. Shower towels were some of the roughest ever encountered, need some softener. King bed was very comfortable, sleeper sofa used by friend with no complaints. I am not a bg breakfast eater but the breakfast buffet was impressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is just a great ski in-ski out resort. Not alot of nightlife at the resort, but you are only minutes to downtown Salt Lake City. We had plenty to keep us busy at the resort. Roof top pool is for 16 yrs and older, but there is a big family pool outside on the 3rd floor with 3 hot tubs surrounding it. Ski shop, rentals, lift tickets, 3 restaurants, kids center...all available in the hotel.

Room Tip: End rooms are a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

In general I love the cliff lodge; one of my favorite places to ski. BUT: Their Internet access is unbelievably bad; this morning it took 20 minutes to check email, and pages often take several minutes to load. Video? Forget it. Online gaming? You have to be kidding. They've been saying they're going to improve it for years but it ain't happened yet. The root cause is inadequate wireless service in the building; I've measured it. The claim the problem is their remote location in little cottonwood canyon but that's hogwash.

Posted using Verizon 3G because this site won't load via wireless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.