We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week at the Cliff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Week at the Cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Just returned with my family (kids ages 6 and 8) from a great week at the Cliff Lodge & Spa (4/2 to 4/9). From check-in to check-out, the staff were extremely helpful. We stayed in a deluxe room with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa bed, which was a good size for a family of four and very comfortable. Our first room on the first floor faced a large snow drift (the consequence of 600 inches of snow), but the front desk staff (Brooke) was very helpful in relocating us to a new room on a higher floor, which had better views. My wife and I enjoyed the spa on several days with great views of the mountain from the 9th floor hot tub and we thought the oriental rugs throughout the hotel were fabulous. Our kids really enjoyed the arcade, but my wife and I thought it was too dark. The general pool and hot tubs were nice with good mountain views, but if you're not with your kids, the Cliff Spa pool and hot tub are better. The Cliff Lodge also has great ski-out access to the Peruvian Express and Chickadee lifts and the Tram. Ski-in access off of the Chickadee lift to the first floor ski lockers (which were great, although tight for 4 sets of skis).

We ate at all three of the restaurants (the Aerie, El Chanate, and the Atrium) during our stay. The Aerie has the best food (truffle fries and lamb tacos were excellent), but I did not find the seating on the benches to be comfortable - you sink and as an adult you're almost lower than the table. I thought El Chanate was standard Mexican food, nothing special but provided good variety for dining options. The Atrium has good lunch sandwiches.

We got a great spring special and we would definitely stay at the Cliff Lodge again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    119
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
89
62
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Got a great deal for MLK weekend at the Cliff. Snowbird and Alta are the best if you're expert skier. Sushi upstairs at the Cliff is outstanding. Pool is great, but kind of crowded in hot tubs after skiing. Would definitely recommend this hotel for overall value and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have been going to the Cliff for five years and have always found it to be nice,clean, and accompdatimg. With the best snow in the world right outside the hotel my family woulden't stay anywhere else. Is it perfect? Maybe not but we go to Snowbird to ski. If your looking for world class restaurants or an active nightlife you can try Park City or Deer Valley however the skiing will not be nearly as good.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Great Location, Great Food (PRICEY $$$), and comfortable for a ski hotel.
The facilities are abundant (Pool, Arcade, Spa, etc.) and the room service is acceptable.

BUT, the rooms, spa, and extra prices are a great setback.

The rooms do not have vital accessories such as PayTV, DVD Player (Need to pay 10$ a day to rent), and no bar.

The spa and large pool is only accessible to people over +16 years old.

Finally, there are many extras to the final checkout bill.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We just returned from our 8 day stay at the Cliff Lodge.

The location is fantastic, the skiing great, but the hotel itself was a disappointment. So was the service.

The room had a great view, but for over $300.00 a night the room left a lot to be desired. For example the bath towels were suitable for mechanic spills on cars at an auto repair shop. They were as rough as sandpaper on your body. The pillows were just as bad.

The hotel room is old, and the swing lamp switch didn't work properly even after they were "fixed." There were stains on the carpet floors, as well as the bedspreads. The wood finishing in the room had a lot of scrapes and damage.

One night I wanted to order take out food from the restaurant. I went upstairs to get a menu. When I called back to order, they told me I had to go back upstairs and order in person, not by phone. Are you kidding? No one told me I had to go back upstairs again, when I initially picked up the menu.

The Upstairs restaurant, the Aeri, and bar weren't very acommodating. There were no seats in the dining room the night we wanted to eat there. Big, hotel, but few tables. We were offered the lounge instead. We ordered from the limited menu, a main entree, an appetizer and a dessert. We also ordered a pizza. The pizza was pathetic!!! Domino's can do better. Then because a large party had just entered, we didn't have any decent service for the rest of the meal. Seems like the staff could care less.

The coup de gras was the night that the Mayo clinic was having their dinner for the physicians attending a cardiology conference. After the dinner, we wanted to take our leftovers to our room. We were stopped near the luggage cart, accosted really, and then told that we couldn't do that. No plates of food could be taken to our room. We felt like we were stealing something, when we weren't. Afterall, we paid to go to the medical conference, and paid for the food.

We'll stay someplace else next year. We also heard that the physician conference will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Spent 5 nights/6 days at Snowbird and Cliff Lodge at the end of January. Though the rest of my family has stayed here before, this was my first trip. Hotel is an easy 20 minute ride from the SLC airport. Arrived after 9:00 pm. Front desk very friendly and helpful. All the staff through our stay was very friendly. Room on 7th floor with great mountain view. 2 queen beds, desk, table, and small sofa. Plenty of space for our family of 4. Room was clean and decor nice. Hotel its self is very quiet and relaxed.
Hotel is ski in/ski out located at Snowbird Resort. I find the entire area to be one of the most friendly. Skiers and snow boarders on mountain are very polite. Mountain/resort has nice small feel, never was crowded. Though this in much more a mountain for experienced skiers, beginners and intermediate can find runs. Also spent a day skiing Alta. Alta is ski only resort 5 minutes awaywhich is very nice. Shuttle runs up there or it is an easy drive.
Hotel has ski rentals and lift tickets just next to lockers. We choose to rent down the mountain and saved about $115. Worth it for a 30 minute trip. Also got our passes down the Mt. and saved. Kids lift tickets were included in room. Was a mix up with this but manager was friendly and fixed the issue very quickly.
Cliff Lodge dining was very good. Liked the Mexican and the late night menu at the floor restaurant. Breakfast buffet was good, but pricey and we just wanted to hit the slopes not take time to dine. Also ate at Alta. 2 minute drive and some good choices there.
Pool was great and there are 4 hot tubs. Also poolside bar/snack bar.
Kids did a day of ski school/mountain camp and had a blast. There were on 3 of them in the group so really was like a priviate lesson.
If you are looking for night life this is not the resort area for you. But if you want excellent skiing, nice hotel with friendly service and good dining this is the place. Can not wait to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I've just got back from 7 days skiing at Snowbird and the skiing there is absolutely fantastic. We chose The Cliff Lodge as its the only "ski in ski out" hotel.
Our experiences suggests that the hotel has it too easy and has just stopped trying. The restaurants in particular are very poor. We ate in the Mexican restaurant and the food was the sort of slop you get in some strip mall. Its kinda tough to get Mexican wrong isn't it? It did make us a bit worried when one of our party ordered a steak and the waiter suggested he chose something else as "we don't cook steak very well here"(!).
Next night we tried other restaurant in the hotel called "The Earie" restaurant. This is expensive, but we wanted a good meal. However, the food and service here was even worse! We were short of one appetizer, one entre was wrong and all the meat was cooked to cinder. We asked to see the Manager who offered us $75 off the bill, but really couldn't have cared less. The other 5 nights we ate at different restaurants outside the hotel (recommend the "Shallow Shaft by the way).
It would have been easier to have eaten in the hotel every night, which we would have done had our experiences not been so awful.
Unfortunately, whilst the hotel itself was clean and the rooms were fine all the staff just gave off a feeling that they really couldn't be bothered. The Manager of that place really needs to get a grip.
I would suggest you go to Snowbird for the skiing and just lower your expectations of what to expect from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.