We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Save Saved
You added Iron Blosam Lodge to your Saves list
Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love sking as a family and stay at Iron Blosam frequently. The rooms with kitchen(ettes) vary in size and layout, and obviously cost. We love having the kitchen for breakfast and ease of apri-ski snacks and dinner. The outdoor pool is warm and has a beautful view of the mountain. The large indoor jacuzzi and sauna are very nice. We feel like this is a "home away from home" and wouldn't consider any of the other options (though they are nice too.) While not slope-side, the location is just across the a road from a main chair lift, so it's very easy to walk out and be on the beautiful mountain in a few minutes. No dirving necessary. It's handy having private ski lockers for each unit to stash your stuff at the end of the day. Beds are very comforable and the murphy beds are nice. The fold-outs are among the more comfortable couch beds, but hey... it's a couch bed. We LOVE having easy "Houskeeping" on the 4th floor. Just pop in for extra towels, pillows kithen utensils, etc. You can also check out free movies at the front desk. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Opt for a mountain view as opposed to the road unless you will NEVER be in the room or are on a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My family travels here 2 to 3 times a year, depending on how often we can sneak away. It's an amazing place that has come to feel like home.

The location is walking distance from Wilbere chair, which is fantastic for getting up and skiing. It's downhill there, but uphill back - so make sure to save a little bit of strength for the trek back. Once you're back though, you can relax your muscles in the amazing spa and pool. Both are heated, and nothing beats relaxing in the heated pool, which is outside, while it's lightly snowing outside.

Your satisfaction will probably depend on the unit you get. The beds are comfy and the fold out couchs are better than your average couchs. The kitchenettes are great for making meals, and storage space in the kitchen is pretty good. Ski equipment storage area is decent in room, and the lockers are convenient for storing skis and boards.

There's a game room on site for little kids, laundry facilities and a spa for adults and movies to check out at the front desk for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have a season pass to Snowbird and ride there about 50 days per season. Frequently, my husband and I lock into a condo at Iron Blosam (or another Snowbird accommodation) and treat ourselves to some time up there without driving the canyon. We've stayed at the Iron Blosam at least 4 times in the past 2 years.

There are some great things about The Iron Blosam. First, it's at Snowbird, which is simply the best place in Utah to hit the slopes. No other resort in Utah has the expert terrain and substantial snowfall of Snowbird. Snowbird is for serious skiers/riders who care about the mountain first (over luxury accommodations, shopping, etc). Be aware there is not a ton of beginner terrain and Snowbird doesn't groom a lot because the people who ride the Bird don't want the groomers of a place like Deer Valley.

Another great thing about Iron Blosam is the variety and size of the rooms. The rooms/condos at Iron Blosam are much bigger than those at the Cliff. There are tons of floor plans, so make sure you know what you are getting. Rooms range from two-story lofts to just a hotel room. The kitchens are huge and the views incredible.

Despite the size of the rooms, the Iron Blosam is a bit of a red-headed-step-child compared to the Cliff. While the Cliff has 3 outdoor hot tubs with bar, the Iron Blosam has an indoor hot tub that just isn't as cool. The Cliff has many restaurants, but the Iron Blosam has just one and it's only open for dinner. Now, at most times you can get a ride to the Cliff...but not always. There's this little thing called Inter-Lodge and it happens more than you think. It's when the mountains surrounding Snowbird and being controlled for avalanches and no one is allowed to leave his/her lodge...even to walk to the parking lot. So, you could be stuck with nowhere to eat breakfast at Iron Blosam (unless you've stocked the kitchen in your condo). Long story short...don't assume you can access everything at the Bird when you're staying at Iron Blosam.

The most disappointing thing about Iron Blosam is the age and cleanliness of the decor. When staying there this January we actually checked in to find a piece of gum in the carpet right in the main area. The couch (which is also a sleeper) was very dirty with questionable stains...ew! Everything about the rooms is not only old, but dirty. The cabinet doors and handles have layers of grime on them. The carpet is old, fraying, and dirty. It's all about your personal ick factor. Four college guys on a ski weekend may not care at all, but my husband and I wouldn't even cook in the condo because it was just too yucky.

The mountain is the star at Snowbird - the lodging just a place to rest and recoup. If you're looking for a place to ski/ride you cannot get better. It's just unfortunate that some of the lodging - like the Iron Blosam - isn't renovated to match the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Over the last 30 years we have skied Snowbird regularly (about 12 times) and keep going back. It is hard to beat the mountain with its BIG terrain, the walk-about village and of course, Iron Blosam. We bought a timeshare in Iron Blosam 30 plus years ago and either use our week or rent it. The lodge is perfect for a couple or family ski holiday; the outdoor pool & hot tub area are great places for relaxing and socializing after a ski day; the front desk staff are efficient and helpful.
Because we are on holidays we dine out a lot: the Bistro Lodge and Steak Pit are still favourites (take your own wine bottle and pay corkage); the changed menu at The Wildflower is too limited; the Forklift is just okay. if you are cooking in your unit buy graceries on your way up the canyon. The small Grits store in the ski village has a good assortment of last minute items including beer.
Of course, the skiing at Snowbird is amazing and attracts very good skiers. This year we enjoyed spring skiing which is second best to Snowbird powder! A new lift on Gad 2 is planned for next year and a summit restaurant for 2015. Snowbird is a special ski area for us and we will return again and again!

Room Tip: Be sure that your accommodation is facing the south side with a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Since moving away from slc 14 years ago we've come back to ski 7 times and tried a variety of locations and areas. This winter we tried the ib for a 4 day ski trip with my 19 month old in tow. The ib appears to have it all - great location, friendly staff, a great very warm outdoor pool and expansive hot tub. There is an active community of "owners" (time share owners who have been returning to the ib the same week for years) who were very welcoming and even put on a reception for all guests one night. Unfortunately the ib has one pronounced and in our case traumatic flaw. The ib like many structures at snowbird is made of concrete. In particular the mining tunnels (usually referred to as hallways...) are concrete walled sound chambers. This means that every noise is amplified and driven like a knife through the thin room doors and into your space.

The first few nights this was ok - our son would get to sleep and then things would settle down and even though you could hear every door along the entire hallway open and close with a deafening click it didn't cause too much trouble. The last night though the front desk had placed two rooms of hard charging (but friendly enough) college kids who proceeded to charge up ans down the hallway well into the night. The thud of boots, crash of doors opening and closing, ice maker visits all amplified and driven straight into our room. Guest services tried to settle them down - but hey, skiing is a party sport.

Our son kept waking up and ended up crying so much he vomited all over himself and the room turning our vaca into a scene from the exorcist.

Vacations are are for me and ski vacations are always a crap shoot. Adding in the noise ans probability of hard charging neighbors and sadly in spite of all the benefits of the ib I can not recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The rooms are reworked from the seventies concrete style but it wasn't obnoxious, kinda gave it some character. We went in September and most activites were closed or had very short operating hours. The "family" pool was a little cool for September nights, and the kids weren't allowed in the hot tub, so we got kinda cold...
The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were beautiful...and it was all close to the resort and activities that were available.
As far as the eight person unit, if you like privacy, you may want to get more than one room. There is no private room, just a loft with two beds. The views from our southfacing room were AMAZING, but the ones on the other side were of the dry hillside and the road.

Room Tip: Ask about the view of a room. Of course all the rooms are mountain, but the ones facing away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked a ski/stay package for the Iron Blosam Lodge in Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, UT. This lodge is the first lodge you come to entering Snowbird village, but it is not far to walk to Snowbird Center or any of the other lodges, and the skiing is easily accessible just across the street and down a few steps. Very easy, but not exactly ski-in/ski-out.
The lodge has everything you need, and the room we had was large and well appointed, with a full kitchen, queen bed and a double sofa bed. Masses of room for 2. Everything worked well, with the exception of the Internet which was very slow. There is a pool, hot tub, bar and restaurant. We ate twice in the lounge-bar and the food was excellent. The staff were all extremely pleasant and accommodating. There are lockers for your skis etc and the other lodges, restaurants and Snowbird Center is no more than a 5 minute walk away. Prices here were very good for the accommodation and ski lift tickets package, and I felt the value for money was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed "mountain" side on the 7th floor (rather than creek side) and although the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Blosam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.