We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russian roulette” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Iron Blosam Lodge
Save Saved
You added Iron Blosam Lodge to your Saves list
Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Russian roulette”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Since moving away from slc 14 years ago we've come back to ski 7 times and tried a variety of locations and areas. This winter we tried the ib for a 4 day ski trip with my 19 month old in tow. The ib appears to have it all - great location, friendly staff, a great very warm outdoor pool and expansive hot tub. There is an active community of "owners" (time share owners who have been returning to the ib the same week for years) who were very welcoming and even put on a reception for all guests one night. Unfortunately the ib has one pronounced and in our case traumatic flaw. The ib like many structures at snowbird is made of concrete. In particular the mining tunnels (usually referred to as hallways...) are concrete walled sound chambers. This means that every noise is amplified and driven like a knife through the thin room doors and into your space.

The first few nights this was ok - our son would get to sleep and then things would settle down and even though you could hear every door along the entire hallway open and close with a deafening click it didn't cause too much trouble. The last night though the front desk had placed two rooms of hard charging (but friendly enough) college kids who proceeded to charge up ans down the hallway well into the night. The thud of boots, crash of doors opening and closing, ice maker visits all amplified and driven straight into our room. Guest services tried to settle them down - but hey, skiing is a party sport.

Our son kept waking up and ended up crying so much he vomited all over himself and the room turning our vaca into a scene from the exorcist.

Vacations are are for me and ski vacations are always a crap shoot. Adding in the noise ans probability of hard charging neighbors and sadly in spite of all the benefits of the ib I can not recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The rooms are reworked from the seventies concrete style but it wasn't obnoxious, kinda gave it some character. We went in September and most activites were closed or had very short operating hours. The "family" pool was a little cool for September nights, and the kids weren't allowed in the hot tub, so we got kinda cold...
The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were beautiful...and it was all close to the resort and activities that were available.
As far as the eight person unit, if you like privacy, you may want to get more than one room. There is no private room, just a loft with two beds. The views from our southfacing room were AMAZING, but the ones on the other side were of the dry hillside and the road.

Room Tip: Ask about the view of a room. Of course all the rooms are mountain, but the ones facing away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked a ski/stay package for the Iron Blosam Lodge in Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, UT. This lodge is the first lodge you come to entering Snowbird village, but it is not far to walk to Snowbird Center or any of the other lodges, and the skiing is easily accessible just across the street and down a few steps. Very easy, but not exactly ski-in/ski-out.
The lodge has everything you need, and the room we had was large and well appointed, with a full kitchen, queen bed and a double sofa bed. Masses of room for 2. Everything worked well, with the exception of the Internet which was very slow. There is a pool, hot tub, bar and restaurant. We ate twice in the lounge-bar and the food was excellent. The staff were all extremely pleasant and accommodating. There are lockers for your skis etc and the other lodges, restaurants and Snowbird Center is no more than a 5 minute walk away. Prices here were very good for the accommodation and ski lift tickets package, and I felt the value for money was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed "mountain" side on the 7th floor (rather than creek side) and although the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I scored a great deal for a studio room in December. It consisted of a Murphy Bed, which was very comfortable and a pull out sofa bed which was hard as a rock. Thankfully my friend did not mind a very hard bed so I got the comfy Murphy bed. Their was a nice kitchen fully stocked with anything you need. If you wanted something that was not in the kitchen you could go down to housekeeping on the 4th floor and sign out other cookware, like non stick pans and crock pots! You could totally do a vacation here and not go out to eat once! The bathroom was a decent size and we really liked the fact that there were 2 sinks. The best part of the room was the balacony! It was AWESOME!!! We had a complete view of on epart of the mountain and we were able to watch people ski/board down the mountain. Totally cool and gorgeous! Really cool to see the lights from the snowcats grooming the mountain after dark as well!

About 2 days in to our trip we had a problem with our room (no one's fault) and we were immediatley upgrade to a suite on the 10th floor! OMG!!! This room was AMAZING!!! It had two floors with 2 queen size beds, 2 full bathrooms, a sofa bed and a murphy bed, a FULL kitchen, a fireplace, a ceiling to floor wall of windows with an amazing view of the slopes and another floor to ceiling view toward Salt Lake City and the mountains out in that direction. This room was just beautiful. There were 2 decks on each side of the room and both had amazing views! I typically would never be able to afford a room like this but if you could afford it....splurge and do it! It is totally worth it!

The staff that works at the hotel are just great. They really try to do right by their patrons. As I stated before, we had a problem with our room and were given an upgrade, a basket FILLED with goodies to bring on the mountain AND a $100 gift certificate to use anywhere at Snowbird.

My friend and I ate at a couple of different places at Snowbird. I think my favorite for food was the resturant The Aerie. We went their for Apres ski and it the apps were very yummy as well as the hot drinks! I also really enjoyed The Tram Club which was probably the most hoppin of the bars in Snowbird (we were there before teh season really started). And the Wildflower in the actual Iron Blosom was pretty tasty too. Loved the fact we could sit by the huge roaring fire and eat dinner. Got a couple of spa treatments as well. They were decent, nothing to write home about. BUT the spa is beautiful (the one in the Lodge not at Iron Blosom)

I would definitely recommend this lodge. Not only are the accomodations great but you can literally walk to the lifts. And if you want to go to a lift a little further way they have a free shuttle that runs ALL day long.

And if you are planning on driving anywhere get a 4 wheel drive! I was all over the road in a 4 wheel drive!!! It is a must have if you plan on exploring anywhere outside of Snowbird.

Oh yeah,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The lodge itself along with the staff were very nice. Our room was nice but the furniture was awkwardly laid out. I do not know which type of room we had but it had one Murphy bed and one sofa bed- neither of which was in a good position to watch tv during down time. We sorted that out by removing the mattress from the bed, moving the sofa bed and putting the mattress on top of the sofa bed in front of the tv. The tv was bolted to the table it was on and of course was limited by how far you could move the table due to the cord, hence all the effort moving the bed. One thing that was super annoying was our bathroom shower. It wasn't meant for tall people. It was adjustable but even at its highest setting, it reached my shoulders (I'm 5'9") so I had to duck to wash my hair. The facilities were all very clean and well maintained except for the arcade, which was a total letdown. The games were old and clearly not routinely maintained.

Although I rated the lodge 4 of 5, we won't be back. We did not realize there wasn't a village to stroll around, etc. like other ski resorts. This area is really meant for hard-core skiers when the snow is good. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good at all during our stay which obviously is no fault of the resort. On a positive note, it is very close to Salt Lake City and other activities to do so we had a good time after all, just not in Snowbird. Make sure you rent a four wheel drive in the winter time. Hope y'all have better weather!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I went there last week for our anyversary. We loved it!! the place is cozzy and the view is amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was plesant and alwasy had a smile. We would love to come back soon. The only thing that we did not like is that our studio had a sofa bed and not an actual bed. Awesome ski experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,WY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was extremely disappointed in the room. Sliders were tough to open. No privacy on balcony. There was not even a small microwave to reheat anything. Hallways were noisey. The check-in & check-out process is a nightmare. You have to try to get your own luggage to your room using only 2 elevators. What a nightmare. 2 longest weeks of my life.

Room Tip: Try another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Blosam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.