We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Snowbird
Westbury, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I scored a great deal for a studio room in December. It consisted of a Murphy Bed, which was very comfortable and a pull out sofa bed which was hard as a rock. Thankfully my friend did not mind a very hard bed so I got the comfy Murphy bed. Their was a nice kitchen fully stocked with anything you need. If you wanted something that was not in the kitchen you could go down to housekeeping on the 4th floor and sign out other cookware, like non stick pans and crock pots! You could totally do a vacation here and not go out to eat once! The bathroom was a decent size and we really liked the fact that there were 2 sinks. The best part of the room was the balacony! It was AWESOME!!! We had a complete view of on epart of the mountain and we were able to watch people ski/board down the mountain. Totally cool and gorgeous! Really cool to see the lights from the snowcats grooming the mountain after dark as well!

About 2 days in to our trip we had a problem with our room (no one's fault) and we were immediatley upgrade to a suite on the 10th floor! OMG!!! This room was AMAZING!!! It had two floors with 2 queen size beds, 2 full bathrooms, a sofa bed and a murphy bed, a FULL kitchen, a fireplace, a ceiling to floor wall of windows with an amazing view of the slopes and another floor to ceiling view toward Salt Lake City and the mountains out in that direction. This room was just beautiful. There were 2 decks on each side of the room and both had amazing views! I typically would never be able to afford a room like this but if you could afford it....splurge and do it! It is totally worth it!

The staff that works at the hotel are just great. They really try to do right by their patrons. As I stated before, we had a problem with our room and were given an upgrade, a basket FILLED with goodies to bring on the mountain AND a $100 gift certificate to use anywhere at Snowbird.

My friend and I ate at a couple of different places at Snowbird. I think my favorite for food was the resturant The Aerie. We went their for Apres ski and it the apps were very yummy as well as the hot drinks! I also really enjoyed The Tram Club which was probably the most hoppin of the bars in Snowbird (we were there before teh season really started). And the Wildflower in the actual Iron Blosom was pretty tasty too. Loved the fact we could sit by the huge roaring fire and eat dinner. Got a couple of spa treatments as well. They were decent, nothing to write home about. BUT the spa is beautiful (the one in the Lodge not at Iron Blosom)

I would definitely recommend this lodge. Not only are the accomodations great but you can literally walk to the lifts. And if you want to go to a lift a little further way they have a free shuttle that runs ALL day long.

And if you are planning on driving anywhere get a 4 wheel drive! I was all over the road in a 4 wheel drive!!! It is a must have if you plan on exploring anywhere outside of Snowbird.

Oh yeah,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The lodge itself along with the staff were very nice. Our room was nice but the furniture was awkwardly laid out. I do not know which type of room we had but it had one Murphy bed and one sofa bed- neither of which was in a good position to watch tv during down time. We sorted that out by removing the mattress from the bed, moving the sofa bed and putting the mattress on top of the sofa bed in front of the tv. The tv was bolted to the table it was on and of course was limited by how far you could move the table due to the cord, hence all the effort moving the bed. One thing that was super annoying was our bathroom shower. It wasn't meant for tall people. It was adjustable but even at its highest setting, it reached my shoulders (I'm 5'9") so I had to duck to wash my hair. The facilities were all very clean and well maintained except for the arcade, which was a total letdown. The games were old and clearly not routinely maintained.

Although I rated the lodge 4 of 5, we won't be back. We did not realize there wasn't a village to stroll around, etc. like other ski resorts. This area is really meant for hard-core skiers when the snow is good. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good at all during our stay which obviously is no fault of the resort. On a positive note, it is very close to Salt Lake City and other activities to do so we had a good time after all, just not in Snowbird. Make sure you rent a four wheel drive in the winter time. Hope y'all have better weather!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I went there last week for our anyversary. We loved it!! the place is cozzy and the view is amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was plesant and alwasy had a smile. We would love to come back soon. The only thing that we did not like is that our studio had a sofa bed and not an actual bed. Awesome ski experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,WY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was extremely disappointed in the room. Sliders were tough to open. No privacy on balcony. There was not even a small microwave to reheat anything. Hallways were noisey. The check-in & check-out process is a nightmare. You have to try to get your own luggage to your room using only 2 elevators. What a nightmare. 2 longest weeks of my life.

Room Tip: Try another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have a one week time share 4 bed suite and this is one of the few good values in skiing time shares in the country. They keep it in great shape but it is old enough to have a stable resale situation. It is almost ski in ski out (just accross the street.) Iron Blosam has the best hot tub and pool in the area but the hot tub isn't for kids. The staff is friendly and the freebies like newspaper, snacks, local shuttle service and welcoming wine/cheese party each week are appreciated. Each year they are updating the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th level or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at Iron Blosam Lodge in September for the past 10-15 years. We love the location and the fall colors. In years past, coffee filters have been provided. We called to inquire about the absence of the coffee filters and was told that they no longer provide them in the summer because the Mormons were offended by their presence. You have got to be kidding me!!!!!! You should be ashamed Snowbird!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel accommodations with two bedroom timeshare unit within hotel that offered Spectactular view of mountains from balcony. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

We visited the first week of June and summer activities did not open until mid June. Therefore, alpine slide, tram ride, and ski lifts to top of mountain were closed as well as other resort activities. Several options for restaurants on property but a little pricey. Wonderful heated pool and large hot tub as well as nice fitness room, tv room, laundry facilities, and a large game room. There was an adult only pool and a family pool which was nice. Wifi in rooms but connectivity very poor. Planned activities included hiking, different hikes on daily basis. Be sure to sign up early as slots filled up quickly. Must be physically fit with no respiratory problems as elevation is 8000 feet.

Resort is 6 miles up a winding road and located very near Salt Lake City. The Utah State Capitol is beautiful and well worth the visit. Natural History Museum of Utah had a wonderful dinosaur exhibit as well as other exhibits. We drove to Moab, Utah and went to Arches National Park and to Canyonlands National Park. We spent one night there. The town of Moab has many restaurants and activities as well. We could have spent another day there as well.

We would recommend this resort, but just don't go for the summer until mid June to enjoy all the resort's offerings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Blosam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iron Blosam Lodge to your Saves list