We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth driving an extra hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scipio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scipio Hotel to your Saves list
Scipio Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 400 North, Scipio, UT 84656   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth driving an extra hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

On a family road trip - on our way from Bryce Canyon toward Salt Lake City. We were planning to stay in Beaver some towns just north of there that had plenty of hotel options, but they all had fairly negative reviews. I looked a little further north and saw ONE hotel in Scipio and nothing else. No restaurants or anything. We called, the very friendly owner said they had one room left as all the rest were taken by firefighters who'd just finished a fire at a nearby forest! It was only $70 for all three of us - queen sized beds. Such a relief after all the $100+ rates near the national parks. Right by the highway but VERY little traffic noise. Quite a big clean room. Windows can open and there is a big meadow right outside the window. Lovely. A small continental breakfast included.
Oh. And what other hotel has an antique theatre organ in the lobby?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here with my sons in August 2013 after a long day of driving on "The Loneliest Road in America" Highway 50 across Nevada. It was a godsend! The rooms were modern and clean - no flaking caulking or dirty grout in the corners; the managers were efficient and friendly. Free breakfast in the morning was a bit sparse - no half and half for the coffee, just powdered creamer, but serviceable. There was a pool and a hot tub, but we left early in the AM and did not take a swim. We paid only in the low $60s for the room, which surprised me as very inexpensive. I highly recommend the Scipio Hotel if you are coming off or about to head out across "The Loneliest Road in America."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here fro 4 nights to visit family in the area and being in a inexpensive place it was great!! The staff was very friendly and they almost made you feel like family.
The room was a good size and it was very clean like they care about there job. The TV only got about 15 channels but they are the major local stations. My view was of the major highway/freeway but it was very quiet the whole time. It had a fridge and a desk with a couple of chairs so it was not cramped.
The breakfast area was big with plenty of choices to choose from. Also there are three gas stations and two fast food places so there are a few choices if you get stuck here.
They didn't clean the rooms everyday unless you let the staff know but on my last night they cleaned my room and it was one of the best jobs I've ever seen!! They cleaned absolutely everything!! My cell phone/camera charger cables were neatly place on my chair like a mom would do. All my toiletries were perfectly lined up ready for my use. Everything I used/touched was put back perfectly for me to use again. I've stayed in fancier place with just OK cleaning but this is the best cleaning I've ever seen.
The Scipio Hotel is a clean, happy, great place to stay on your travels. I will be coming back for years to come!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was participating in a timed long distance motorcycle ride and was running well behind my estimated arrival time. I contacted the hotel to let them know I would be arriving at midnight- no problem they said. Someone was there to check me in. That was very much appreciated because I'd been on the road non-stop for 14 hours at that point. Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We want to compliment the owners of the Scipio Hotel. What a lovely little hotel. The rooms were very clean with a very personable staff. Their rate of $67 per night is unheard of in a nice hotel. This hotel has everything. We took the opportunity to use their pool and hot tub. The continental breakfast was sufficient but a suggestion might be to add hard boiled eggs on the buffet. A bowl of eggs sitting in a bowl of ice would round out the offering. Scipio is a small town, but there is a Subway right next door which made getting dinner and gas the next morning super easy. Thank you for the lovely experience, we definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently spent the night at this hotel with our two small dogs. They did not charge extra for the dogs. This was the only hotel on our 5 week holiday that did not charge extra for pets. During our holidays we stayed in more than a few stinky hotels. This hotel was so clean. Smelled wonderful. The price was very reasonable. The owner/manager very pleasant. Kudos to these hotel owners. A huge thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After reading reviews, checked in late, having reserved a king which was less expensive than 2 queens. Was asked if we wanted 2 queens instead when checking in because rooms with kings were on the noisier side fronting a busy street :). Continental breakfast was simple with coffee, english muffins, cold cereals, instant oatmeal packets, milk, OJ, microwaveable hot chocolate packets and some individually-wrapped cinnamon rolls and something else. Nothing fancy but enough to get going in the morning. Rooms were clean with basic amenities. Don't stay here expecting specialty toiletries and gourmet coffee and teas. But definitely a good value. We'd stay here again. Just off a major interstate. Eat before stopping for the night. Also noticed that they have arrangements for horses if you happen to be hauling some around for $5/night.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 queen beds must be on quieter side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scipio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scipio Hotel

Address: 230 West 400 North, Scipio, UT 84656
Location: United States > Utah > Scipio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scipio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scipio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scipio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Scipio
Super Eight Scipio
Scipio Super Eight
Scipio Super 8
Scipio Hotel Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scipio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.