We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joy Luck Restaurant

Joy Luck Restaurant
10745 S State St, Sandy, UT 84070-4106
801-501-0388
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 176 restaurants in Sandy
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came here for lunch. The lunch specials are a great value. You have many options from which to choose, and each one comes with a soup or salad, egg roll or cheese wonton and a choice of fried, steamed or brown rice. They subbed miso soup and a veg roll for me since I am vegetarian, and the other soups had meat in it.

The parking lot and entrance to the restaurant does not face State Street. But the restaurant is large and not hard to find.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    8
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great sweet and sour chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I visited. She had the cashew chicken and I had the sweet and sour chicken. Good staff and friendly. Good portion size. Took a while to get our order, but it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I noticed this place driving past and decided to try it. Ironically the building points away from the street, but no matter. Came in and was immediately greeted and seated. Atmosphere was a little dark, but cozy. Service was prompt and top notch. Food came out in good time, and was very flavorful and tasty. The breaded chicken was excellent; not overly breaded, plenty of meat. Place is great for large groups. Recommend this place to anyone, as it isn't too far from the interstate. Will definitely come back in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best of Utah Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We first went to Joy Luck as part of a City Deals coupon. This was one of our favorite finds. Everything from traditional family dinners to a la carte entrees. We have taken everyone we know there to introduce them and always receive rave reviews.

We went there again this last weekend. Service was great, and the quality of the food has remained high. Our favorites are the wonton soup, which is a meal in and of it self. Must tries include the walnut shrimp, Neptune platter, almond chicken, cashew chicken, and if you like a little curry flavor, the sa te. If you are really hungry the royal dinner will swamp the biggest appetite.

If you like fresh crisp veggies then this is the place for you. If you like over cooked mushy veggies then stay clear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great service, very reasonable prices, and huge servings (I would suggest splitting entree's). Overall, we were very happy with this find and would suggest it to anyone staying in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Luck Restaurant also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Joy Luck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy Luck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.