We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BARBECUED OYSTERS and MOJITOS!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Grath's Fish House

Mc Grath's Fish House
10590 S State St, Sandy, UT 84070
(801) 571-1905
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 171 Restaurants in Sandy
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
La Paz BCS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“BARBECUED OYSTERS and MOJITOS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We come through Sandy for business several times a year and always try to stop by McGraths which is just about a block from many of the business hotels in the area. Our favorite is a big plate of their barbecued oysters and an icy mojito! I know this is Utah, and not necessarily known for good cocktails, but they've come a long way. They make a good one in McGraths! We like sitting in the bar late at night! Easy dining!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The food was excellent, the service not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We walked in on a Tuesday evening and were seated right away. It didn't take long to realize out waitress (Krysten(sp)) was not terribly happy to have us in her section. She was very abrupt, no eye contact, set the food down rather unceremoniously. The food was very good and the atmosphere is nice. We tipped accordingly and when we left, I attempted to find someone I could comment to but the front area of the restaurant was a ghost town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have eaten there a few times in the past few months and had a great experience each time. Good service. Everything we ordered was great. Very reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend. So much better than Red Lobster.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have eaten at McGrath's a few times and they consistently serve a great meal. The service is great and the prices are reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wish the clam strips were better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really miss the clam strips I used to get every weekend in Palm Springs. I found McGrath's on the web so I've been twice and had the same thing both times: the clam strips.
They're thick and very heavily breaded. Despite preferring clam strips done with a little more delicacy and finesse, they're okay. The only real complaint I have is that they don't have a clam strip appetizer, because i really don't want the salad and fries that go with it as a dinner. The clams are so heavy and so heavily breaded that the salad and fries are just too much.
The atmosphere is nice and the serving staff I've had both times were very nice and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Grath's Fish House also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Mc Grath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Grath's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.