We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish the clam strips were better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Grath's Fish House

Mc Grath's Fish House
10590 S State St, Sandy, UT 84070
(801) 571-1905
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 187 Restaurants in Sandy
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wish the clam strips were better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really miss the clam strips I used to get every weekend in Palm Springs. I found McGrath's on the web so I've been twice and had the same thing both times: the clam strips.
They're thick and very heavily breaded. Despite preferring clam strips done with a little more delicacy and finesse, they're okay. The only real complaint I have is that they don't have a clam strip appetizer, because i really don't want the salad and fries that go with it as a dinner. The clams are so heavy and so heavily breaded that the salad and fries are just too much.
The atmosphere is nice and the serving staff I've had both times were very nice and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, good service, food choices were many. We would return and recommend to others who eat seafood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“First time at McGraths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have talked for a long time about going to McGraths but just never were in the right circumstance to make it happen. Finally had the chance prior to a REAL Salt Lake game.

Loved the clm chowder. Thick and delicious. Not too salty and chewy like others we've had. The shrimp was excellent and the deep fried fish crispy and not greasy or soggy.

Not very busy for a Saturday night, but we were early.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Though we had to wait to get a seat (despite the fact we could see empty tables everywhere) It was worth the wait. We had a wonderful dinner. We were all quite impressed with the food and the service was good. The food was excellent and the prices were quite surprisingly fair. The atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant was nice and clean. A very much enjoyed dinner experience! I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Was over it in 5 minutes flat.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a chain of restaurants, and I am not saying that's a bad thing. But this particular one was terrible for what I paid. The food was mediocre at best, the drink I ordered was lukewarm, and the server was simply awful. I sat for 15 minutes and THREE times the server went by, tapped on the table with her fingers, and said "I'll be right with you".....well, she was, 15 minutes later. Just horrible. I will not be darkening their door again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Grath's Fish House also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Mc Grath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Grath's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.