We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill

Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill
1850 East 9400 South, Sandy, UT 84093
801-523-7070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 174 Restaurants in Sandy
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Grill, Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rock Springs, WY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I were in the area for the RV show this weekend and she wanted pizza. Luckily Smoky Mountain has gluten free crusts.

We ordered take out.

I had a personal great white on thin crust, she had a carnivore pizza on a Gluten Free crust. We really liked both of them.

great price on the personal size, about 7 bucks....the GF was 17-18...I think it was a 10-12 inch pizza.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMtnPizza, Director of F & B at Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ryan-

Glad you had a chance to check out the pizzas while you were in town. It is amazing how many people come in just for the gluten free pizzas & pastas and now it is really nice to have some of the grill items as well that fit that gluten free profile as well. Thanks for checking us out!

Tom Reding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why do you serve FROZEN food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

On a recent visit I was going to order the lasagna, but asked the server if it was frozen. He replied that it was frozen, that it came that way from Sysco food service.

I then asked if the Baked spaghetti was made fresh, and was assured it was.

What arrived was baked spaghetti with canned marinara sauce, melted cheese and two previously FROZEN meatballs. You could tell they had been frozen as they were soft, spongy and watery.

The kitchen isn't cooking here, just reheating ingredients. I could stay home and defrost the same food served.

So why Tom, are you serving FROZEN food? If your grandmother was Italian would she serve frozen lasagna?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMtnPizza, Director of F& B at Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Marty-

Thanks for the feedback it is always good thing to hear what our customers think. It’s not often that I wish I were a server again; I might have recommended a one of our from scratch pasta sauces like the Alfredo, or possibly the Sonoma with its sautéed chicken, mushrooms, and a white wine cream sauce baked with Parmesan, or possibly the grilled Hearts on Fire, featuring grilled romaine hearts topped with grilled chicken, blue cheese crumbles, toasted pine nuts, bacon, and drizzled with a balsamic vinaigrette. The burgers are awesome as well…. Hopefully you are still in town doing a bit of skiing or just relaxing and can stop back in and check out a few of our other offerings!

Tom Reding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas and Salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you like to try new things go to Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill. They have very unique pizzas, salads, and other entrees. Try the Hearts on Fire Salad. It is really good. They also have great calzones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMtnPizza, Director of F& B at Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
JM-

Nice to hear you are enjoying the salads! The Hearts on Fire has really been a great addition to the menu. Thanks for the great feedback!



Tom Reding
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It ain't cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food and service was great. It is a bit higher in price, but not too extravagant and is worth the money. Kinda a strange location though.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMtnPizza, Director of Food & Beverage at Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed the experience, we have a great crew making it happen every day! Thanks for coming in!

Tom Reding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappoined.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We ordered the pizza and it was similar to a frozen pizza baked at home. Very Disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMtnPizza, Director of Food & Beverage at Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Suzie-

Thanks for the feedback. We make the dough fresh everyday, we do have a couple of diferent options for you like the deep dish, or thin crust, to go along with the hand tossed crust. The Gluten free crust is not made in house to prevent cross contamination issues and it definitely has a different bite to it. Thanks for letting us know, I will be there next week and will take a look at it!

Tom Reding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill also viewed

 

Been to Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Mountain Pizzeria Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.