We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction for a family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loveland Living Planet Aquarium

Loveland Living Planet Aquarium
12033 South Lone Peak Parkway, Draper, Sandy, UT 84020
801-355-3474
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Sandy
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Living Planet Aquarium highlights animal habitats in Utah waters, Earth's oceans and South American species. learn about our interdependence with the fragile ecosystems of our planet through entertaining, interactive educational exhibits and programs.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great attraction for a family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a cool place to see and experience. We are going to take our kids to this next time. You get to touch some of the aquarium fish and sting rays. The admission prices are very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    18
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“A little bit of the ocean in land locked Utah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

For people coming to Salt Lake City the Living Planet Aquarium maybe disappointing to you compared to ones in your town especially if you live in a coastal town or near major aquariums but hopefully this will all change when the new Aquarium opens up so to review the Aquarium now would not be fair it's fun to go too and I will always be happy to suggest it to friends and familes

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fun place to explore...and they have otters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I will start out this review by stating that I absolutely love otters, so any place where you can watch them is good by me. The aquarium is actually very well laid out, with many rooms you can explore though it is a bit small compared to other aquariums I have been to. In many ways this makes it great for kids who may not have the attention span to spend multiple hours. The value is really good given the ticket price.

The aquarium has several areas that each have a different theme - Utah habitat, Amazon, Ocean, etc. which allows you to see a variety of creatures from around the world, many of which you would not see elsewhere. The otter exhibit is great, with three North American river otters. They have a pool in which they can play, as well as this little window that visitors can pop their head up through and get a closer look at the otters if they are curled up asleep. Often exhibits are designed where the animal can't been seen in parts, but this one had enough room for the animals while having them still visible. The only exhibit I was slightly disappointed in was the penguins because the glass was so dirty, you couldn't really see much unless the penguins went under water. The aquarium also has a cool "touch" tank where you can pet a sting ray, which is fun.

One other compliment I would like to give is the staff at the front desk were really friendly and helpful. I really don't like snakes so asked if there were any and they marked up a map with directions on how I could avoid them. They had some people around in the exhibit that all seemed very knowledgable and open for questions. I would recommend anyone who has a little time to spare to drop by and check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cternst
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for little ones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just about the right size for little ones who tire at the zoo.
They enjoyed the little babies and seeing them under water.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This temporary aquarium makes me excited for the permanent one to be built!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As stated, this is a temporary aquarium. But it is definitely worth your time and money if you're looking for something to do with or without kids.y

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loveland Living Planet Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Loveland Living Planet Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loveland Living Planet Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.