We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - short staffed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy to your Saves list
HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9685 South Monroe Street, Sandy, UT 84070 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice place - short staffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I had a very comfortable suite. The full kitchen with oven, fridge, and microwave was a welcomed bonus! The place was very clean, nice parking, clean pool, and clean great rooms. Beds and bathrooms were the best. However, the staff was so short staffed, the front desk lady, drove us in the van, and also helped with breakfast clean-up. Even a great place, can go down quickly if you don't have enough staff ;)

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room. Also ask how many people are working at the hotel??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
33
14
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mon-Thurs evening social was a good way to meet other travellers; Breakfast with omelette bar was incredible; patio option for dining was a bonus with the mountains in view; 2 bedroom suite was great for our group.

Room Tip: Corner suites were spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've stayed here in the past and was very pleased with both the property itself and the friendly service. This time, our stay was less pleasing from the service viewpoint, although the property is still well designed for the business traveler. It's interesting to observe the natural progression that occurs in some businesses as they age. Initially, when management is attempting to build the business, staff are well trained to be really helpful, friendly and flexible. When things become more settled and there is less pressure to attempt to produce happy customers who will aid in marketing the property, the atmosphere can change unless management continues to manage and to recognize that travelers do have a choice in which businesses they patronize. That has happened here. The rooms haven't changed, they are still pleasant, comfortable, and relatively clean but the welcoming atmosphere is no longer present. That may not be important to some travelers but I believe it sets the tone for the whole property. There are a lot of activities behind the scenes that the customer never sees but trusts to be performed correctly. When one encounters an obvious lack of caring from those who interact with the customer, one suspects that attitudes elsewhere might not be up to snuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSandy, Manager at HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our property. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. We have many new staff members at this time, and your input will help us to show all of them how important the guest experience is, and how they can help to make your stay more memorable and enjoyable.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.


Sincerely,

Meghan James
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here May 24th for one night. It was an unplanned stop as I realized I was just not well enough to make the drive back to Colorado that evening.

Check in was fast and courteous, the management made sure I had everything I needed for my stay. They even have a 24-hour 'store' that one could purchase meals, drinks, last-minute necessities, but I felt the meals offered weren't that great, just mainly pre-packaged and/or frozen. Nonetheless, I can see how that would come in handy for those arriving late.

I requested a quiet room on the east side, away from the freeway to the west and the construction to the south (it looks like another hotel or some type of large structure is being built).

The room was large, had a full size kitchen with utensils, plates, everything one would need to cook at home. My room faced east as requested, towards the mountains and overlooking the pool. If it weren't for the large group of 20+ children that were in the pool right up until 10pm, I would have had a peaceful evening. Unfortunately I had to wait until their posted quiet hours of 10pm before I could actually get some rest. That, and the unfortunate circumstance of a smoke detector going off in my hall way in someone's room that did not get turned off for about 35 minutes or so. Earplugs solved that issue for the time being, but not without being bothered for a little bit. Oh well, you can't control everything. Management did respond to my request to address the smoke detector issue but it still took some time. He also assured me the pool would get quiet at 10 pm, which it did.

The breakfast in the morning was your typical hotel 1/4 folded processed-cheese omelets, pork sausages, fruit, cereals, waffles, etc. The coffee was weak but I have yet to find hotel coffee that is delicious, so take that for what it's worth.

There is ample parking in the back for larger vans/shuttles, but not necessarily for rigs or full-size RV's.

Overall if you are staying in the Sandy area I would recommend this place due to it's proximity to ski areas and urban malls alike. It is clean and management was very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the east side, higher levels for mountain views. The west side faces the freeway and the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not believe how at home we felt when we walked into our room. We had a living/kitchen, a bedroom and an awesome bath. The morning breakfast was always a special treat with different offerings daily. The hospality of the nightly food and drinks from Monday through Thursday was a delight to a relaxing evening. We had the pleasure of having meeting in the meeting rooms along with a banquet and they were always ready and set up extreamly well. I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Sandy Utah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in a King suite for 10 days on business. The room was great and the breakfasts and 'Happy Hour' food in the evening were a wonderful bonus.
The staff were all very friendly and were always willing to help.
Definitely good value for money and I will stay again if I have business in Salt Lake City, or to go skiing in the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great place for extended stay. Room was spacious and comfy. Nice kitchen and living area separate from bedroom. Excellent shuttle service to nearby locations and city train stop to go into downtown Salt Lake City. Good amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy

Address: 9685 South Monroe Street, Sandy, UT 84070 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sandy
#4 Business Hotel in Sandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City Hotel Sandy
HYATT House Salt Lake City/Sandy Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Salt Lake City/Sandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.