We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mexicano Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mexicano Restaurant
1425 S State St, Salina, UT
(435) 529-2132
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Salina
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I always am optimistic when I dine some place and Mexican food is my favorite. Nonetheless, I found the food to be bland and substandard at best. I'm sorry I cannot recommend this place and quite honestly I've had a better Mexican TV dinner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Shrimp enchilada with poblano sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Want to fall in love with a dish? The lightly peppery white sauce on the shrimp filled enchilada is addicting. The dish is served piping hot, with the usual fare of beans and rice and fresh lettuce. It is goooood. The salsa is homemade and a meal can be enjoyed with just salsa and chips.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
2 reviews
“Great flavors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I usually get the Fajitas (Steak, Chicken or combo with Flour tortillas) and make my own burritos, but I am also a fan of the Poblanos (Creamy Anaheim Pepper Sauce). Great flavor. Worth the drive away from Richfield!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprise! authentic tasting mexican food in central utah?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yes this place is the real deal. I am a skeptic and critic for so called authentic mexican restaurants. I have had real mexican food on the streets of san felipe, mx and the best of so cal. You wont be dissapointed. Try the enchiladas poblanas, never fail. Almost time to travel to central utah again, when I do, you'll find me at El Mexicano at some point.

#autentico

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysvale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in South Central Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Authentic Mexican food served hot! If you like Mexican food, you need to stop here. They also have an American menu if Mexican food is not your first choice. Nice, clean family restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Mexicano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mexicano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.