We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambassador Inn to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn
1481 South Sunland Drive, St. George, UT 84790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Windsor, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good stay for a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

This was one of the cheapest places on our road trip from Colorado to California. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The pillows were a little too flat for me, but my husband seemed to prefer them over the extremely big and fluffy ones we had in the other hotels. The staff at the desk were extremely nice and helpful. Checking in and out was easy and fast. The breakfast area was wonderful. The lady supervising the breakfast area was extremely nice and friendly. My only other complaint (which was minor) was that they used too much room deodorizer...But, I guess that was better than not using enough and smelling other, umpleasant things! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
28
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

We recently stayed at the Ambassador for 7 nights and then another 2 nights. We were visiting family in St. George and the location was great -- easy access. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and we especially liked the large shower and the breakfast room. Good variety at breakfast -- the french toast was excellent and I was happy to have the hard boiled eggs available; also the variety of oatmeal flavors. Our entire stay was enjoyable; no complaints at all. Every 6th night is free, so we have 3 nights toward our next 5, which will give us another free night. Definitely good value for the money. We'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

Reviews of this place made our decision of where to stay in St-George
easy. I was still a bit skeptical, but it was great - we checked in near midnight and service was quick, courteous and the place is very clean and pretty updated. A good free breakfast is also part of the great price. We were told we'd pay 5$ extra to have a fridge in the room, but I don't remember seeing the charge on our bill, and didn't mind paying it since we needed it. I was worried about noise since it's near the freeway, but it's below it, and you don't hear it at all! Quiet location - businesses around it that close for the night. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Perfect for just a place to sleep and get back on the road
  • Disliked — Wasn't much not to like...
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, UT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I was extremely skeptical about staying here. The rate was about half of the other hotels in the area. It was great we stayed here two nights on the front and back of a weekend. We enjoyed a king suite with our 2 small boys. The room was great and the free breakfast was just right. The staff was very helpful. The second night my wife complained about the pillows beeing too poofy and they found 3 flat ones for her. I will stay here again!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — It didn't have the inside lock hasp at the top of the door. Our little ones kept escaping!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

Just what I was looking for. A clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel. Excellent staff, good breakfast in AM, easy access on/off highway. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

We looked at probably 10 different hotels here in St. George and couldn't really find a decent inexpensive place. By checking out trip advisor, this currently ranked #7. So we gave them a call and got a good rate for a friday night. It was the same price as Motel 6 and Days Inn (both looked horrible). So here's the list of pros and cons, but in general we were pleased.

Pros
Away from contruction (lots of work being done on the other side of town).
Close to the freeway
Good breakfast, clean and friendly service.
Free Wifi (writing my review on their network)
Big showers
Nice pool and hot tub
AC worked great

Cons
Some stations on TV sound horrible for some reason (maybe just our room)
Tap water lukewarm, but they have an ice machine to chill it
No tub, just the shower

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

After leaving the St. George Days Inn in disgust (read my review, "Would you pay $10 to use the John?"), my husband and I found the Ambassador Inn, which we were told is a "sister hotel" to the Hampton Inn. The Ambassador Inn is not fancy, but it is clean with modern amenities, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is satisfying, with enough variety to accommodate most people. We really loved the fact that we could have a refrigerator and microwave in our room for no extra cost (saved us from having to eat out at restaurants for every meal during our four-night stay). We also enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub, which were both well maintained. This hotel is quiet and low-key, and we felt like the service we received was above average for the price we paid. The Ambassador Inn is our hotel every time we stay in St. George now. Our experience there is always pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2001
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn

Address: 1481 South Sunland Drive, St. George, UT 84790
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. George
#16 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staff at the Ambassador Inn takes pride in the cleanliness and comfort of our guest rooms and the beautiful outdoor pool and jacuzzi.As with our room standards, we take pride in our deluxe breakfast and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Ambassador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St George
Ambassador Inn St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.