We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambassador Inn to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn
1481 South Sunland Drive, St. George, UT 84790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a nice couple of nights here at a very good price. The room was a good size and clean with comfy beds. Breakfast was very good with two hot items, scrambled eggs and biscuits and sausage gravy.
If I have a very small moan there is only coffee at breakfast time and it is not the greatest I've had but there is a machine with alternatives if you have a sweet tooth.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
28
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on out 2 week see Utah and Vegas trip. We didn't have advance reservations but used comparison website at dinner. This hotel had great ratings and good price. Instead of booking online from iPhone, called- they beat any website's rate!

We drove over and found it perfect! Friendly staff, clean rooms, awesome hot/cold breakfast. Complementary newspapers, too.

We had clogged toilet, twice- but they quickly came when we called.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here passing through St. George on a recent trip. The room was way more affordable than others in the area and also allowed pets. Though it's not well-advertised they do charge extra for a pet which was disappointing (considering all of our previous stays on this trip were at nicer hotels and didn't charge extra) but we were thankful to find a good pet-friendly spot.

The motel is very clean, was super quiet and he bed was very comfortable. They have everything you need, including a nice big shower (no tub), mini-fridge, and microwave, but are definitely no frills. No in-room coffee but the do serve coffee and a continental breakfast off the lobby from 6-11. Coffee is Maxwells and served in styrofoam cups - I'm ok with Maxwells but would like to see real mugs in place of tiny styrofoam cups (I hate drinking hot liquids out of styrofoam - luckily we had travel mugs).

There's a pool and hot tub, though we didn't use them. Nothing within walking distance to get a bite to eat.

I waffled between a 3 and a 4 because it was so clean, quiet, and comfortable - we slept really well! - but the coffee options and no restaurants within walking distance knock things down.

It all depends on what you need - if it's just an overnight, I'd highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Complete jerks! Our fridge was broken,we trusted that it would be in working order we had a lot of food in it ( $60 worth) and all the offered was $15 off our room. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I chose this inn while on a road trip with my boyfriend a few nights ago. We were exhausted from an 8 hour drive and needed a simple, cozy, dog-friendly hotel. Because of the high ratings on Tripadvisor, we chose the Ambassador.
It was such a disappointment. We were charged $150 which included the pet fee. The room was so tiny, smaller then many NYC hotels I've stayed in. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been remodeled since 1980. The bed was super uncomfortable. The overhead lighting in the room had the same fluorescent glare as lighting in office buildings. If the room was $80 for the night, I would have understood. I wanted to share this review because this was the first time I chose a hotel from Tripadvisor and felt that the reviews we *so* off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We are so grateful we found this hotel!! We typically stay at another hotel when we are in town, but this will be our go to place for now on. We walked in the door to our room and you could just feel how clean it was! Both my husband and I said the moment we walked in that we were so glad we stayed there because it was so clean. We arrive at 3am, so no problems after a very long drive was appreciated. The night audit was a pleasure to work with! The beds were extremely comfortable! Breakfast was a typical breakfast, but my husband really enjoyed the biscuits and gravy (he is kinda picky when it comes to food too)! Only disappointment we had was there wasn't a tub/shower in our room, just a shower. Normally this would be fine, but with a baby we needed a tub to bath her in. We should have asked when making the reservation. The price was very reasonable, especially for a holiday weekend. Thank you for such a great establishment! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stopped for one night on our way to Park City, the Hotel has no elevator (but they have a second floor!), room was clean but on the small side. Breakfast was not bad at all with scrambled eggs and sausages, muffins, cereals,...
Location closed to the freeway, makes it a bit noisy if the room gives on the freeway side (was our case), there was a fridge and a microwave in the room, we unplugged the fridge, it was too noisy. For a one night stop, it was OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn

Address: 1481 South Sunland Drive, St. George, UT 84790
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. George
#16 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staff at the Ambassador Inn takes pride in the cleanliness and comfort of our guest rooms and the beautiful outdoor pool and jacuzzi.As with our room standards, we take pride in our deluxe breakfast and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Ambassador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St George
Ambassador Inn St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.