We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hallways” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1129 South Bluff Street, St. George, UT 84770-5247   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in St. George
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. George, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hot Hallways”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I really expected better experience.
The hotel looks renovated, looks good in the outside off the Bluff street which one of the main streets in town.
Customer service was poor, the young lady was not friendly which this job in fact all about.
The rooms were ok not bad had all the basic features like any inn.
We stayed at the first floor ,My main complain is the DOORS of Laundry Room at the hotel kept open and the heat was extremely horrible and unpleasant experience and that was in August summer day in saint george which temperature was outside about 115 degree and entering the hotel except to get cooler air that did not happen .
I have no idea if don't use their brain but who is responsible or manage the hotel have to get the act together to give better service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternAbbeyMgr, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Nina,

Thank you for coming to stay with us and giving us feedback. I do appreciate your feedback and we will look into the doors being left open and causing the heat in the hotel to be a problem. Being that it was from a year ago you stayed; we will do the best we can to look into what caused that problem. St. George is hot during the summer months and we do keep the hotel doors closed due to the outside heat as you mentioned (it can be as hot as 115 degrees) from coming into the hotel.

We do appreciate your feedback and hope to have you stay again.

Jordan P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    186
    35
    15
    1
See reviews for
291
289
36
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We are driving from Seattle to LA over 5 weeks, & always check TripAdvisor for our accommodations. We came across Best Western Abbey & decided this was for us. We ended up staying an extra night. Efficient, friendly reception, nice pool area, clean comfy rooms & of course the best breakfasts at Best Western.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Come for the large rooms, comfortable beds, and the quiet; stay for the awesome breakfast. The pool can get crowded when it's hot so be flexible about when you use it. The exercise room and hot tub are clean and usually less busy.
There are good choices of restaurants across the street. However, St. George is not a very walkable city. To cross the street you will either have to J-walk or walk about half a mile or more.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large so you might ask for a room near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My last 4 trips I have stayed at 2 different Best Westerns in St George Ut and 1 in Cedar City UT. I would rate all 4 stays as excellent in all categories. There suites are incredible and reasonable. The jetted bathtub and separate shower was a nice surprise. High quality mattress. Great breakfast

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel again and it is our choice hotel for when we visit Tuacahn twice every summer. The rooms are VERY nice, VERY clean, and the beds are oh so comfortable. The staff is always welcoming and ready to meet your needs. The breakfast buffet that is served is one of the best I've ever had. There are a ton of choices in foods, so much that we don't look for breakfast elsewhere. Also, the pool is huge and there is an indoor hot tub and gym. The lobby is also VERY clean and nice looking. This is THE nicest Best Western we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the third floor farthest from the lobby and recently just stayed on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here this past Monday through Wednesday. We checked in and then went swimming. When we got to the pool and hot tub, we saw that the hot tub was only about 3/4 full. When we came back in and everyone finished changing, My wife wiped the floor of the bathroom with the floor towel so no one would slip and fall. The towel was pitch black. Then we noticed the bugs. They were everywhere. Live ones, dead ones, in our room, in the hall, on the stairs. We saw several dead ones on the floor on the stairs for the entire stay! Do they not know how to use a vacuum here? It was disgusting. We called the front desk and insisted they move us which they did. The new room was clean, but did not have a working thermostat. We had to manually adjust it all night long.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Try the Best Western Coral Hills Inn & Suites on the other side of tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternAbbeyMgr, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Scb1970,

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Best Western Abbey Inn. I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay with us. Please note we did have to drain the pool due to a guest putting soap in it. We were trying to fill it back up as quickly as possible to avoid any guests being angry.
I am sorry about the floor in the bathroom being dirty. There is no excuse why that was not cleaned. I have already spoken to the head of housekeeping and finding out why that was missed. Regarding the ants someone spilled a drink in the hallway and did attract some ants in the hotel. We did spray it and it sounds like we may have missed some while cleaning up.
When you are back in town please let me know so we can help make it up to you.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Jordan P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Abbey Inn has two sections of the hotel...the older section with regular rooms and the newer updated section with the suites. Beware if you stay on the side with the suites. This side has a banquet hall on the first floor. The night we stayed there was a raging 20 year highschool reunion party going on. Bass and loud music raged through the entire hotel. We were on the third floor and our room was shaking with the music pounding in the background. We called down to front desk and they told us the party was to be ending at 11 pm that night. I am shocked that a hotel would allow this kind of activity while guest are trying to rest from long drives. The hotel was indifferent about our complaint. Definitely am done staying at Best Western Abbey Inn. Also another strange coincidence...I have always gotten email to rate hotel after stay... Not this time...they don't care nor want to hear about this inconvenient stay...BEWARE STAYING IN SUITES!! COULD BE LOUD PARTY THE NIGHT YOU STAY.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternAbbeyMgr, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ryanrorick,

Thank you for coming to stay with us and sharing your thoughts about your stay. I am sorry the 20th high school reunion didn't allow you to fully enjoy your stay with us. I will make sure to discuss this with our meeting room staff so this doesn't happen again. We do care and appreciate you staying with us.
The Best Western Corporate office sends out all the emails to follow up about guests stays. So please don't feel that we don't want to hear from you. This experience allows us to learn from what happened so that it won't happen again in the future.

When you do come back to town please contact me direct and I hope we can make it up to you.

Thank you

Jordan P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn

Address: 1129 South Bluff Street, St. George, UT 84770-5247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. George
#1 Green Hotel in St. George
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#3 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Abbey Hotel St. George
Best Western Abbey Hotel
Best Western St. George
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.