We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn at Convention Center

Comfort Inn at Convention Center
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn at Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 E Riverside Dr, St. George, UT 84790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Laredo, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our firtst visit to St. George and we enjoyed our overnigth stay there. While the hotel may be aging a bit, it is still well kept and clean, nothing musty or old. Our rooms were big and comfortable with a little refregerator for our traveling refreshments. While most hotels have small dining rooms, this one had two big areas so there was plenty of room for all of us to sit and enjoy our great breakfast. Clerks were courteous and welcoming. Only complaint - wish the vanity was separate from the commode and shower.

Room Tip: This is a convention hotel so it is very big. Ask for a room near the lobby or elevator if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    33
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
48
40
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first time staying at this Comfort Inn in St. George. We had been disappointed in our normal hotels, they had continually declined in the last few years. New management had let them run down until they were filthy and full of cockroaches. This Comfort Inn was extremely clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, breakfast was great, and our room was very spacious. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to St. George.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

To me, this is the perfect place. the rooms are updated and clean INCLUDING the bathroom. On my recent road trip, I came across motels boasting remodeled rooms, but found out that it was only the room, not the bathroom. To me, the most important place is the bathroom--where I can wash off the road feeling comfortable in my bare feet, etc.

The bed was very comfortable. So much so that, considering replacing my own bed, I strip it a bit to jot down the make and model. I also did this with another Choice Hotels property that seemed to have the same bed. It was wonderful and I got a great night's sleep. Call me quirky, but I also liked this place because I could have the AC on, and the fan would remain on even when it cycled. I have to have "white noise" to sleep and most places the AC goes off and on, waking me up.

But the best thing, out of 7 motels in 7 days, is they still had real pay-per-view movies. Yes, they are always pricey, but I travel alone and enjoy starting a movie when I'm ready and snuggling in for the night. This stop, I was able to rent "Hyde Park on the Hudson."

In the end, the bathroom was as updated as the rest of the room. Worth noting is that the hot water is REALLY hot. There is even a sign on the vanity warning as much. I presume this is because guests will use less which means there is more for everyone. This should be a caution to travelers with small children--there is danger of scalding if not supervised. The only ding on this stay is that they have not updated the TVs. Still the old CRT, which meant my movie was in letterbox and slightly difficult to see.

Funny anecdote: I was given room 123, which I misread as 128. There isn't a room 128. At least not that I ever found. Another traveler helped me look and I felt like such an idiot when I looked at my key folder again. I did finally find my room, but I even though the room numbers go up into the 130s and beyond, I still do not believe there is a 128.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc, ut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have ONE question...has the owner or manager EVER stayed in the King Suite room overnight?? The furniture arrangement of this room is POOR ! The bed is two feet from the air conditioner, which has NO option of changing air flow direction. The air conditioner is noisy and blows directly at the bed...resulting in freezing air blowing at you while resting or trying to sleep...and requiring the use of the down comforter.

The TV volume up has to be turned WAY high to hear the TV while the air conditioner is on. We can't imagine how this may have penetrated to the room next door?!

This situation could be remedied rather easily...MOVE the couch to the side of the room with the air conditioner and MOVE the bed to the middle of the room - place the TV where it can be seen from both the the bed and couch. This simple change would have made our trip 200% better.

Overall the conditions of this hotel are AVERAGE - the room was spacious & clean.

Breakfast was okay, same options both days - the hotel was VERY busy so there was a waiting line and finding an available table was a waiting game.

Because of the setup of the room WE WILL NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Room Tip: Check the layout of the rooms you wish to reserve - STAY AWAY from those with bed next to air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

St George Utah is a great place to stay if you're headed to Zion Park or Bryce Canyon for a day. The hotels in Springdale UT, which is the small town right outside of Zion National Park, can be pricey. St George Utah is only about 45 minutes away and offers many nice hotels at reasonable rates. (Springdale may be a better choice if you''ll be spending several days at Zion or Bryce.)
This Comfort Inn is in a convenient location, it is clean and the rooms are updated and spacious. They also have a free breakfast with eggs, waffles, toast, english muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, yogurt, bananas and apples. The lady at the counter, (Lesa?) was very helpful and offered some suggestions about the area when I asked. Great place to stay. Counter rates will be just under $99/night but you can book in advance for under $78/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at this property. My previous visit was horrible. I was surprised they were still a Comfort Inn. The building was fantastic. The room was huge and the atmosphere pleasing. However, I got the feeling that the hotel is not well run or maintained. The room was clean except for the carpet, which left my feet black. The staff was polite, but not trained in smiling or desiring to offer good service. The manager, who is the owner, seemed to be nice, but disengaged. Attention to detail and great customer service would make this place a winner. However, it seemed only average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western U.S.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What we really liked about this hotel was it's convenient location - right off the 15 and easy navigation to the rest of town. Room was clean, spacious and quiet. Bathroom was small, but newly upgraded with granite and kept clean and well stocked. We also had a small fridge, closet space, coffee/tea and coffee maker too. Beds were o.k., halls were quiet, room was cool in the heat of summer. Yes, the TV was from the 90s, some of the furniture and linens were older, but for the price we paid (under 80), I'm not complaining! Plenty of parking, easy check in/out w/ friendly staff, free Wi-Fi, and free small breakfast too. Husband and son used the pool/spa and had a good time! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! P.S. If you're sensitive to outside noises (parking lot, people next door, TVs, etc...) and don't mind "white noise" just use the wall temp.unit to run the window fan - blocks all outside noises and keeps your room cool.

Room Tip: We had a room facing parking lot on ground floor and it was fine. Just keep your curtain closed, un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn at Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Convention Center

Address: 138 E Riverside Dr, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn at Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Hotel St. George
Comfort Inn St George
St. George Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn At Convention Center St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn at Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.