We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
Sands Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   581 E Saint George Blvd, St. George, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in St. George
belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“not so clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here in april 2014 on our way back to Las Vegas. Turned out to be the most expensive hotel stay of our vacation and it was the worst. Just barely good enough to sleep. Room looked like it was falling apart and could use some renovation. Size of room and breakfast were reasonable. Nothing more to say.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
7
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have NEVER been treated as poorly - anywhere! The desk staff, including manager, we're rude and underhanded. After canceling a second night due to a filthy room and two police arrests in the parking lot the night we did stay, I find that my credit card was hit for the second night anyway. Believing an oversight, I called to have the money refunded, only to be told that it was now "my problem and I would need to call my bank to solve the issue." What criminals! Do NOT stay here. If you don't get some disease from the room or pool, or you're not caught up in some wild police activity, then you are likely to be taken advantage of by a turban-wearing petty thief charging your bank card for services you never received.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we planned out Utah trip there was little avail at St George for the day we were passing through. Hence, the Sands Motel. The exterior seems neat enough, but the rooms are a disaster. It is a family owned hotel, and for some reason or other have fallen behind on maintenance and upgrades. For $114 for one night we got a room that had no coffee maker, two filthy, ragged cushioned chairs, no chair suitable for sitting in to do computer work (had to request one from the office), drapes that were seriously stained with either vomit or wine, beds with non fitted sheets that did not tuck in properly, and a "breakfast" next door at the Coronado motel (must be affiliated w Sands) that was the chintziest spread we have seen these past ten days. The town was pretty well booked out or we would not have stayed; but the price was probably double what this trashy room was worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for one night during August 2013. The rooms are very clean and the linen is crisp and fresh. Beds are very comfortable. There is enough pillows. There is a pool and an excellent breakfast included for under $30 a night during the week. I can highly recommend this motel. The a/c is not blowing over the beds.

Room Tip: Any room according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

DO NOT stay here and if you do... do not use the pool. A child threw up Friday in and on the side of the pool and today (Sept 23. 2012... three days later) it is still there. The rooms stink, the beds are uncomfortable, there was black mold all over in the bathroom, the front desk was not helpful. This place is HORRIBLE.. BUYER BEWARE

Room Tip: RUUUN. I wish I would have stayed next door at the Coronada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this motel as we were passing through St George on our way to Zion. For $30 (so $15 each) it was a good value, plus we got the free breakfast. Everything was basic, but again, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

In my exhaustion, thinking I would save some money since I was only sleeping for a few hours, I made the grave MISTAKE of stopping at the Sands Motel in St. George on a very brief business overnight. Upon reserving a room, I couldn't find my business credit card, so I just paid cash, BEFORE I checked the room. TRAVEL TIP: DON'T EVER pay before doing a BED BUG and mattress CHECK!!!! After arriving in this TOTAL DUMP of a room, I still had the presence of mind to check the room and of course, I found BED BUGS! The mattress was so stained and filthy that the UTAH Health Dept. needs to DO THEIR JOB and PROTECT the PUBLIC by condemning dirty dumps like this one!!!!! I was so tired and disgusted I got out of there as quickly as possible. It was late, and no one responded when I went back to the office. I was so upset that I just left and drove all night to my next destination, which with NO SLEEP, was extremely DANGEROUS! I wrote to the Sands Motel to request a refund, but have not heard back from them - big SURPRISE!!!! Thank GOD I didn't unpack my suitcase and potentially have to destroy all of my belongings b/c of BED BUG INFESTATION!!!! Stay as far away from this foreign owned filthy dump on St. George Blvd!!!!!

Room Tip: BEWARE!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! BED BUGS & the filthiest room I have ever seen in 50 years of travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 581 E Saint George Blvd, St. George, UT
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel St. George
Sands Motel St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.