We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
Sands Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   581 E Saint George Blvd, St. George, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Sedgefield
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for one night during August 2013. The rooms are very clean and the linen is crisp and fresh. Beds are very comfortable. There is enough pillows. There is a pool and an excellent breakfast included for under $30 a night during the week. I can highly recommend this motel. The a/c is not blowing over the beds.

Room Tip: Any room according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
7
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

DO NOT stay here and if you do... do not use the pool. A child threw up Friday in and on the side of the pool and today (Sept 23. 2012... three days later) it is still there. The rooms stink, the beds are uncomfortable, there was black mold all over in the bathroom, the front desk was not helpful. This place is HORRIBLE.. BUYER BEWARE

Room Tip: RUUUN. I wish I would have stayed next door at the Coronada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this motel as we were passing through St George on our way to Zion. For $30 (so $15 each) it was a good value, plus we got the free breakfast. Everything was basic, but again, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

In my exhaustion, thinking I would save some money since I was only sleeping for a few hours, I made the grave MISTAKE of stopping at the Sands Motel in St. George on a very brief business overnight. Upon reserving a room, I couldn't find my business credit card, so I just paid cash, BEFORE I checked the room. TRAVEL TIP: DON'T EVER pay before doing a BED BUG and mattress CHECK!!!! After arriving in this TOTAL DUMP of a room, I still had the presence of mind to check the room and of course, I found BED BUGS! The mattress was so stained and filthy that the UTAH Health Dept. needs to DO THEIR JOB and PROTECT the PUBLIC by condemning dirty dumps like this one!!!!! I was so tired and disgusted I got out of there as quickly as possible. It was late, and no one responded when I went back to the office. I was so upset that I just left and drove all night to my next destination, which with NO SLEEP, was extremely DANGEROUS! I wrote to the Sands Motel to request a refund, but have not heard back from them - big SURPRISE!!!! Thank GOD I didn't unpack my suitcase and potentially have to destroy all of my belongings b/c of BED BUG INFESTATION!!!! Stay as far away from this foreign owned filthy dump on St. George Blvd!!!!!

Room Tip: BEWARE!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! BED BUGS & the filthiest room I have ever seen in 50 years of travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

From the moment my money was in their hands the people at the front dest were rude or maybe they were missing that sensor in the brain that gives a person a feeling of being welcomed. It was a man and woman team work at the front desk that pointed out what I am not allowed to do or I will be fined. One of the rules were that since I am a single woman then I am NOT ALLOWED to have any one else in my room.. this comment gave me a feeling of disgust as if I was seen as a lady of the evening and that my rights as an american with freedom were not valued, I have friends in the city and it was uncomfotable having them visit in fear of being seen as a wild woman ,dealer or being fined. The boulevard was very loud, cars driving by all night . The tub had chips in it so I was unable to relax in the tub because the peices floated in the water and on my last night I was kept awake by 4 police officers standing outside of my window talking to a man about his domestic abuse and weapons that were on his body. I go to St George 3 days a weed to do volenteer work for the disabled and needless to say I will not return to the Sands Motel, I will be much more picky about where I choose to stay next week. Maybe if my trip began with the front desk couple saying "welcome we hope you enjoy your stay" or simply smileing and treating me as a guest would have helped me to overlook the flaws but unfortunatly not everyone has the ability to show professional kindness and give a others a feeling of respect .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Not the nicest looking place from the outside but it offered a kitchenette. No pots, pans or cuttelry was provided though.

We turned the ovan on and could smell smoke straight away. Smoke became overwhelming and set the fire alarm off so we could not cook. We had to sit in our room with the door open to get the smoke out - not nice as there was alot of creepy looking people hanging around the motel.

The internet was very slow and cut out all the time. And the decor of the room was terrible. Really needs a "spruce up".

We didnt shower because the bathroom looked filthy but were only given one towl anyway. I have generally stayed in squats nicer than this place - stay well away!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The guy at the desk was really great to work with. The room, however, wasn't so pleasant. They put us up in the nearby Economy Inn, but we dealt the whole time with the management at Sands.

There was a lot of mold under the sink, as well as a bunch of earwigs. That wasn't very surprising because there was a lot of food and food crumbs left in the drawers. On top of the pantry, apparently to keep the bug problem down, they had thrown and left a lot of white powdered insecticide. That didn't bode well with a young couple expecting their first child. At midnight, and at 1:00 AM (they're punctual little beasts) cockroaches in the walls would crawl into the smoke alarm and set it off. They looked to me like the American breed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_cockroach

After the first time, I demanded (and was denied) a full refund. After the second time, I took a number of incriminating photos and we left for good. We couldn't find a room, and had to drive 45 minutes back home to Cedar City, and then back to St. George.

I disputed the charge on my credit card after 2 visits and 6 unanswered phone calls to the General Manager failed to secure for me a refund.

Room Tip: easy. Go somewhere else. Definitely don't stay in 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 581 E Saint George Blvd, St. George, UT
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel St. George
Sands Motel St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.