We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Hamblin Home

Jacob Hamblin Home
Santa Clara Blvd. and Hamblin Dr., St. George, UT
435/673-5181
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Attractions in St. George
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Historic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I loved the historians on-site who donated their time and knowledge about Jacob Hamblin and his homestead. It was fun to see his home (restored and historic) and learn about all of the contributions he had made to the St. George area. He had quite the green thumb with his farm and orchards.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint Log Cabin with Interesting Artifacts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After the visitor center experience, I was much happier visiting the Jacob Hamlin home on the edge of town. Jacob Hamlin was renowned for his work in the LDS church and his interactions with the Native Americans he encountered. The cabin has been well preserved and each room contains interesting items from the Hamlin family. The guide was very knowledgeable and the parts of his talk about the LDS church was not too heavy handed. We spent maybe an hour at the home. Well worth the 10 minute drive from St. George!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great historical activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The tour takes a different flavor depending on the group members on tour and the mood of the guides. I have been a couple of times and I have heard longer and shorter presentations. Hopefully, you will get the longer version. It is interesting to learn about the polygamy issue in the early days of Utah.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine Ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very informative local tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Elder Davis was our guide and he was very knowledgeable and fun. Gave the tour a historical spin with good stories that the families enjoyed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and friendly place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We enjoyed going to the home. The missionaries were very friendly and informative. They answered our questions and the historical facts were very interesting. We enjoyed the visit very much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Hamblin Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Hamblin Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.