We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good respite between camping trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added St. George Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Main Street, St. George, UT 84770 (Formerly Budget Inn & Suites Saint George)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in St. George
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good respite between camping trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I checked into this motel after 2 weeks of camping and rafting. It was a good place to re-organize. The room was comfortable and had a fridge and microwave. I liked the place but was disappointed with the laundry facilities which had only one machine and a dryer with a door that didn't close and had to be run 3x to get my clothes dry. Don't plan on doing laundry there. There was a line of people trying to do their laundry. Also, the Internet was very spotty and frustrating. They need to put more money into both these areas. The breakfast was decent but the set-up created lots of congestion with people running into each other. They are expanding this room so hopefully this problem will be resolved. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room closer to the office might give you a better shot at Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgates, General Manager at St. George Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for such a good review! I am glad that you were given a place to re-organize and to relax!
Just so you know, we are expanding our breakfast area so that we can avoid the congestion during our busy seasons. We are also looking to expand our guest laundry room, so that we can better serve those who need to clean clothes while visiting us. And as for the internet, we are constantly exploring ways to make that feature better for all of our guests. We look forward to you visiting us in the future, and I hope when you do we will have all of our upgrades in place to better serve you and your family!
Zach Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
56
37
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed here with a large youth group for 3 nights and found it to be very adequate for this kind of trip.

Pros: The motel has a large number of rooms including suites that sleep up to 6. Prices were reasonable (ask for a group rate). Doors open to the outside, so you're not going to have people complaining about kids making noise in the halls. Breakfast included cooked waffles, biscuits and gravy, various juices, cold cereal, tropical fruit salad, etc. There are two swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) both of which were clean and the outdoor one was big enough for 40 teenagers to have plenty of room. We had a fridge and microwave in our room which was useful. Also there's a Denny's and fast food next door.

Cons: This is a renamed Budget Inn & Suites and you can tell it's never been a particularly fancy place. It a bit warn around the edges. One of our rooms had the typical stinky heater element problem that you get when you turn on the AC or heat for the first time. Generally though you can tell they are working to try to keep this place clean and inviting. Given the effort, I was surprised that they skimp so badly on the toiletries. One miniscule (half serving) shampoo is all you get. So if you have 6 people in a room - or 2 - make sure to bring your own toiletries!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgates, General Manager at St. George Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I appreciate your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and your responses help us know what we need to work on.
We have recently started a remodel that will take some time to complete but we are excited to make our rooms more modern and comfortable for all.
We do place one shampoo in the rooms, but we have a note in the room that states if you need more amenities to call the desk. We have lotion, conditioner, extra soap and shampoo at no extra charge.
Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you soon.

Zach Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very much appreciated the welcoming for my family of 8. The kids really loved the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The food was good. The staff were friendly. We stayed in the family suite on the 2nd floor and thought the layout was nice, and the beds were very comfortable. Price was decent too. We would definately stay there again. The front desk lady at the Hampton Inn was helpful in letting us know about this place and calling ahead to book it for us. Much Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgates, General Manager at St. George Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I am glad that you kids were able to enjoy our pools!
We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us to see our newly remodeled/expanded breakfast room!
Thanks,
Zach Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here about a half dozen times in the last few years. The value is great. The room is decent, what one would expect for the price. We always enjoy the indoor pool. The breakfast was good. There was a variety of choices.

I always stay in the family suites near the indoor pool.

We always get placed on the second floor even when we ask for the first floor. This year we were again out in the same room on the 2nd floor. No one was on the entire first floor for the first night we were there.l I begin to wonder if it is because of our Spanish surname. Many reviewers say that the staff is friendly. but I have never experienced that friendliness. There was an older blonde woman working behind the desk this year. She would not even say hello to me when I said "good morning" while we were leaving the breakfast area.

The price is great. I will return there. If you are a person of color I would warn you that you may not find any friendly people at this place. You might be segregated to the second floor.

Oh, yeah, a big cockroach like bug tried to share our room but we evicted him. There can be some big outdoors bugs in St; George. My mother-in-law lives there. They always try to get inside her home. This was the first time I had this happen at this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgates, General Manager at St. George Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you feel unwelcome here at times due to your Spanish Surname. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome and if we fall short of that goal we will have failed all of our guests who stay with us.
My staff is taught to be friendly as guests walk in and out of the lobby, and at all interactions with guests at our property. If you ever feel that you are being disrespected during your next visit with us, please feel free to call me and discuss your issues, so that we can correct them on the spot.

Thanks
Zach Gates
General Manager
435-673-6661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic trip to SG w some extended family members, and the accommodations were adequate. We got a really great deal on our room, so we feel like we cannot complain. Guests just need to be aware that roaches abound in the summertime. We had not had this problem at other SG hotels, but w the doors that open to the outside instead of inside halls, those buggers get in SO quickly with normal traffic, even when you constantly shut the door. The staff was quick to come treat them, but my little guy was really freaked out and had a hard time sleeping the rest of the wknd, worried abt the roaches he saw repeatedly in the bathroom and on the floors.
Just be aware of the problem. We would've brought traps, as they seemed to work well for friends.
The outside pool was super fun for the kids, and the breakfast was delicious. The temperature of the rooms was great: strong AC for summer heat.
It's not a fancy place. We are used to Hampton Inns and lower Marriotts. Our children called this the "hotel motel." It was NOT a bad experience. Just don't expect anything more than average. For the price, it was a great value, and I'd love to try it during no-roach season!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgates, General Manager at St. George Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. This year has been an unusual year for roaches. We have never experienced the amount that we have this year. However, we never want any of our guests to have to share their rooms with these unwanted creatures.
We have sprayed several times a month to help with the problem and we have noticed fewer and fewer roaches each time we spray.
I want to apologize to your little guy since he didn't have the best experience at our hotel. Next time you come to St. George and stay at our place, please give me a call and I will make it up to him.
Thanks,
Zach Gates
General Manager
435-673-6661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got a groupon for this hotel and eventhough it wasnt as close to the parks as we could have booked - it was a great place to stay.

Very nice rooms - great set up.
2 beds are in a "z" configuration for increased privacy. Great for parents who want to go to sleep while kids stay up. They had a ceiling fan by the second bed to circulate the air.

Our Microwave fuse blew while I was making popcorn and they came right over and replaced it.

Very nice facilities.
Great indoor pool (we didnt try outdoor but it looked nice). Breakfast buffet was hot and had a nice variety.

We enjoyed this hotel as one of the best on our trip this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On our road trip, we have chosen this motel as our base of operations for two nights while we visited Pioneer park, Horseshoe bend and the Antelope Canyon.

It is situated near the freeway, literally a minute from it, so the location is top notch. Also, the rooms were clean, the bed was cozy and the motel was really quiet. It was perfect for its purpose: to get some rest after our activities.

I must say, that their breakfast was the best on our road trip, during which we have stayed in ten motels/hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn & Suites

Address: 1221 South Main Street, St. George, UT 84770 (Formerly Budget Inn & Suites Saint George)
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. George Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a corporate executive, on a family vacation, or just passing through and you are looking for St George Hotels St. George Inn & Suites will meet your specific needs in St George Hotels. We offer a wide variety of types of rooms, including luxury, family, executive, & bridal suites, in addition to our standard single, double queen, and king rooms. Many have Jacuzzi tubs, mini refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your St. George Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn And Suites Saint George
Budget Inn & Suites Saint George Hotel St. George
Budget Inn St George
Budget Inn Saint George
St. George Inn & Suites Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.