We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st option for Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
15 S River Road, St. George, UT 84790
435-656-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 216 Restaurants in St. George
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st option for Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been to Cafe Rio on several occasions. And I have yet to be disappointed. It's better than the Durangos and other places out there. I always have the salad. It always satisfies me. The beans and rice at the bottom is the best part. Come here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    27
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Jubbly!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were on a road trip across Arizona, Nevada and California in May/June this year. We were shattered after a long drive across the desert, came out of our motel and spotted this place across the road. We had never been to one before and didn't know what to do so were a bit shell shocked as the service was that fast!! The food however was amazing!!! We need more of these in England Cafe Rio if you're reading this, York particularly!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Utah
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The town Fav? Whatever.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

People around me raved about this busy place. Busy yes, quick service yes. Good food, yes.

Unfortunately, I tasted something in my food that I knew I was gonna pay for later... such was the case.

I tend to not do well with certain preservatives - I can smell them and taste them immediately. But as a foodie I EAT it anyway, dang it all!

The line forms, you pick your dish and they build it while you walk down the line. It's a quick way to prepare your meal and you get what YOU want on it. Test your flavors and go back time and time again because you can have your meal taste different each time you go just by adding a little cilantro or black beans.

The place is usually crowded so don't expect a table immediately - have someone in your party tell you what they want and have them go hunt for a seat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terrific Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great fast food and great fast service. Very fresh. You pick your dish, pick your meat, pick your sauce, etc. so you get exactly what you want and the price is low. I found the barbacoa a little too sweet but my wife thought it was good. But that's the only complaint I have. The ambiance is fun. Wish it was closer so I could go more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington UT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went there because we heard the food was good, but the employees there seemed to be in a hurry which can make you feel pressured especially if it's your first time there. Plus we felt we were herded through like cattle. The portion of pork which was the best part was an extremely small portion that made you feel like you got taken advantage of.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.