We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fajita Bonita's!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Frontera Cafe

La Frontera Cafe
1183 E 100 S, St. George, UT (Formerly Don Jose Mexican Restaurant)
435 986 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 212 Restaurants in St. George
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fajita Bonita's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really were pleased with our first visit to this clean, well furnished and well run restaurant this week...their highly touted chili verde was good but not great. On the other hand the fajitas were absolutely fantastic. Their hand patted flour tortillas were thick, hot and delicious...well worth a visit IMHO.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds,utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped in by accident and what a nice surprise. This restaurant was great. Nice atmosphere, good food and great margaritas. You have to ask for a drink menu, they don't advertise that they have a full bar...it is Utah, not part of the United States! :)

Would recommend this to everyone. Don't know how they can serve such great food for such a reasonable price. Had the tamale with the chile verde sauce and it was scrumptious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST MEXICAN FOOD EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I honestly have to say that this the best mexican restaurant Ive ever been to. Ive done a lot of traveling in my life and being from Utah, this has always been my favorite place. Ive tried mexican food from here to California to Texas and up to Michigan and have yet to find anything close to as good as this place! The chile verde is amazing and I would have to say if you've never been, this is definitely the place to go!!! Cant wait for my next visit back...Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cheap, filling. and tasty. What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I recommend the smothered burrito with cheese and onions. Also the smothered frontera fries are outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an old stand by in Salt Lake City now in St. George. The food is consistently excellent. This time I had their Thursday special. Chili verde enchilladas with rice and beans. Very very good. Very good friendly service also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Frontera Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Frontera Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Frontera Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.