We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of St. George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Park

Pioneer Park
Red Hills Parkway, St. George, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Attractions in St. George
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views of St. George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Close in and easy hikes for visitors with limited time. Fun scampering over the red rocks for the kids and adults alike. Great views of St. George and the Tabernacle.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great shops and outdoor space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loved the little gift shop and art gallery. Several restaurants to choose from. We at at the Painted Poney...be sure to save room for desert. Lovely outdoor seating as well!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“How fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our kids loved climbing on the rocks, trying to catch lizards, and enjoying the scenery. It was close and convenient and definitely worth while. We spent a little over an hour there and could have spent more.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“A fun place to hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been going to St. George at least once yearly for over 35 years and never knew this place existed until I saw it on Tripadvisor. It's very close to the city and it's free - what could be better? You get there by going up Main Street then turning right and following the road past the "Dixie" rock to the parking area. When we were there there was a group of rock climbers with ropes and such climbing the face of the "Dixie" rock itself, but also many people young and middle aged walking all over the other rocks and enjoying the day - we were the oldest ones there! We hadn't planned very well and had on poor shoes. I had on hard soled clogs, and my husband had on Teva sandals. As has been mentioned there is a "house" built into one of the slot canyons. Someone there told us it was an old prison. 'Not sure that's true, but it makes a good story. There are handrails on part of the trail and a bridge connecting two of the large boulders. There were several families there and even the young children were able to climb on the tall rocks with the help of their parents. There are some picnic areas - one large one that is semi-covered and is right near the parking area, and at least one more small one that we saw. There was also a campfire area no far from the parking. It looked like a fun place for a group activity in the evening, but you would need good flashlights to get there. We were near a group of friendly young men, probably college age, that were jumping over a slot canyon, back and forth. Ahh youth, no fear. If you go, take a hat, some water and wear good shoes, and remember that St. George can be very warm so don't go mid day in the heat. When we were there they had two portable "johns" placed near the parking area. My husband used one and said they were pretty grim. It's a fun place to visit. You could probably spend several hours there if you like to hike. I'm sure we saw only a small part of the entire park and we spent about 45 minutes there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Great View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice park among red rocks. Sits on hill overlooking town. Tables and places to picnic and BBQ. Kids and adult alike will enjoy exploring around the red rocks.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Park also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;