We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Park

Pioneer Park
Red Hills Parkway, St. George, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“How fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our kids loved climbing on the rocks, trying to catch lizards, and enjoying the scenery. It was close and convenient and definitely worth while. We spent a little over an hour there and could have spent more.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
451 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“A fun place to hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been going to St. George at least once yearly for over 35 years and never knew this place existed until I saw it on Tripadvisor. It's very close to the city and it's free - what could be better? You get there by going up Main Street then turning right and following the road past the "Dixie" rock to the parking area. When we were there there was a group of rock climbers with ropes and such climbing the face of the "Dixie" rock itself, but also many people young and middle aged walking all over the other rocks and enjoying the day - we were the oldest ones there! We hadn't planned very well and had on poor shoes. I had on hard soled clogs, and my husband had on Teva sandals. As has been mentioned there is a "house" built into one of the slot canyons. Someone there told us it was an old prison. 'Not sure that's true, but it makes a good story. There are handrails on part of the trail and a bridge connecting two of the large boulders. There were several families there and even the young children were able to climb on the tall rocks with the help of their parents. There are some picnic areas - one large one that is semi-covered and is right near the parking area, and at least one more small one that we saw. There was also a campfire area no far from the parking. It looked like a fun place for a group activity in the evening, but you would need good flashlights to get there. We were near a group of friendly young men, probably college age, that were jumping over a slot canyon, back and forth. Ahh youth, no fear. If you go, take a hat, some water and wear good shoes, and remember that St. George can be very warm so don't go mid day in the heat. When we were there they had two portable "johns" placed near the parking area. My husband used one and said they were pretty grim. It's a fun place to visit. You could probably spend several hours there if you like to hike. I'm sure we saw only a small part of the entire park and we spent about 45 minutes there.

Visited March 2013
11 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Great View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice park among red rocks. Sits on hill overlooking town. Tables and places to picnic and BBQ. Kids and adult alike will enjoy exploring around the red rocks.

Visited April 2012
2 Thank DeeAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! So cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This park is like none other. It's close to town and is a wonderful walking adventure. It's just made up of a large picnic shelter and lots of wonderful red rocks to climb on and enjoy the view from. There were lots of families having fun together, rock climbers, youth groups and even an alien being filmed. We loved the rock cave house and the slot canyon.

Visited March 2013
3 Thank Debbi_56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Kids LOVE it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Every time we go to St. George we have to stop at Pioneer Park. My boys call it "Red Rocks". There are slot canyons, fun hikes, boldering, rock climbing and fantastic views everywhere. It's right off a main road and has picnic areas and parking. I've not seen restrooms there like the other post says. Definitely worth a stop! You can easily spend 3 hours here and not get bored.

Visited January 2013
3 Thank swimswithturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pioneer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing