We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Dated but nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Saint George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Saint George to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Saint George
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1040 South Main Street, St. George, UT 84770   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old and Dated but nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this location as a family for a 1 night stay. We picked the Suite room thinking it would be more spacious. We had a room with 2 queens and 2 TV's. I would say that it ended up being the size of a regular room with a refrigerator, microwave and sink. The safe in the room did not work. The room is very dated and old. TV's are old and all the channels had some kind of snow in the picture. The remotes were gross as you could see the black dirt around the buttons. The carpets are pretty dirty as well. Some of the towels were stained and all of them were old and off-white. The blankets were torn and frayed as were some of the sheets. They have free Wi-Fi but it was slow and didn't load every time I tried to use it. They did have free breakfast but it was very minimal and they have an extremely small sitting area. We did not eat it but I went in there to check out and took a look. The staff is extremely kind and nice from making reservations to checking in. I would not stay here again just because personally for the money it is not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is outdated on the inside of the rooms. There was ants in the rooms and the carpet was pretty groos.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The front desk gentleman was extremely nice and very helpful. Recommended places to go and do and gave us maps and a coupon to eat out. Room was very clean and comfortable. The lady who did our room was great. We had an excellent experience here and would definitely stay here again. Loved the free wifi and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Quite area behind the more expensive hotels.
Great for the price. No issues except plumbing is slow to drain. Good maid service. Didn't have time for the breakfast or the pool , but pool did look nice.



  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable bed, didn't like the pillows, breakfast was fine, nice if they put in the waffle maker rather than pre-made toaster waffles. Didn't use the pool or hot tub. Friendly and pleasant service at check-in.internet was slow but we were in a room quite far from the office. Also, they are pet friendly

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Check in was quick and easy.

The room was clean and quiet. Easy access from anywhere in St. George.

We needed help with a plugged toilet and staff responded quickly.

We messed up a left something in the room that we really needed and the staff mailed it to us at their expense

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Saint George

Address: 1040 South Main Street, St. George, UT 84770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Saint George 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Saint George Hotel St. George
Howard Johnson St. George
St. George Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Saint George St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Saint George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.