We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet value at Sakura” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi

Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi
939 E St. Geroge Blvd, St. George, UT 84770
(435) 275-2888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 211 Restaurants in St. George
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sweet value at Sakura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant has it all.Great food,sweet service, and super values.We are not into the Steakhouse frivolity, though folks seemed to be having a blast.So at the front desk take a right into the sushi room.Serenity and quiet conversations prevail.With a bit of ingenuity you can have a fabulous meal with drinks and not break the bank.We are lighter eaters, so split a hibachi order,added an extra salad, and an order of unagi.House wine is very nice and a steal at $4, a large bottle of Sapporo beer (almost twice normal size,20 oz?) was$7.Both nicely chilled on a hot day.The grilled salmon was delicious and came with soup,rice and one salad.Hibachi orders are around $16.95 to 18.95 but splitting was fine.Total bill $41 for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    43
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi in St George!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a surprise to find this place! We had not expected that in this place. The server gave good recommendations and the food was just perfect! We will be back ;-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
1 review
“You're gonna love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If I had a complaint, it's that I haven't come here sooner! If you enjoy quality sushi, look no further. This is world-class cuisine, right here in St. George. Do yourself a favor and prepare to enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sushi and kimonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's hard to believe there'd be a tasty sushi restaurant in the middle of mountainous desert country like St. George. Sakura proves it does exist.

My husband and I took my uncle and his wife here for dinner one night. It's one of their favorite places to eat in the area so we found common ground that we all enjoy sushi. The entrance is looks authentic; the hostesses were dressed in amazing silk kimonos. The decor is dark oak with traditional Japanese art. There is a side Japanese grill for those who like hibachi items. The sushi was terrific! Their special rolls and sashimi are very flavorful, fresh, and in large portions. We shared 4 rolls to start and ordered 2 more a little later. We also sipped sake and Sapporo. Service was very attentive. Also, we were at Sakura around 6:30PM on a Tuesday and they weren't very busy.

We are sure to dine here again when we're visiting family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Utah
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The wife and I enjoyed lunch one afternoon. She goes back regularly. I like to try new places when I am out and about, so it's not that I don't like it, just like new foods.

We had the teriyaki beef and a few other dishes and the flavors were pretty darned good.

I noticed on the way out that they had the tables and set up for a cook to do everything in front of you.

I'll go back for that on a special occasion thing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.