We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Sushi in St George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi

Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi
939 E St. Geroge Blvd, St. George, UT 84770
(435) 275-2888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 194 Restaurants in St. George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better than average Sushi in St George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fresh fish, beautifully presented. We thought the varied sushi and sashimi dishes were very good. The hibachi-grilled *filet mignon* was a tough cut of steak in a rather plain jane sauce with some grilled vegetables. Less than impressive. I would go back for the Sushi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, HI
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“A new favorite of ours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We did a family birthday celebration here, and it did not disappoint. I personally love this style of cooking, it is very fresh and healthy. The entertainment is part of the meal! We had young ones with us that were alarmed at some of the "fire-y" presentations, and he had some things in his bag of tricks just for them. A great family or group experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great show, good food, Grill outshines sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a nice grill at your table place with a good show for half the price of the big name brand place. (you know the one)
The Good - Mr Kwan was great, playful with the younger people in the group, great knife skills, fun show, plenty of fire. Just ok on flipping you the shrimp. My steak was well flavored as were the stir fry. Nice well lit rooms. Drinks were refilled promptly, good service.

The Ok - I really like sushi, our group ordered the eel roll and a few Las Vegas rolls. Not that they were bad, but I felt they took second place to the grill. Lots of cream cheese and veggies, light on sauce.

Negatives - Not much. The location is on the St. George Strip and near the highway so not exactly fancy but easy to get to. I did see a couple drink servers, somewhat lightly dressed, hanging out with a group of drinkers at one table for an extended time, but nothing over the top. About $100 for my group of five so not too bad on price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were surprised to find an excellent Japanese restaurant in Utah. Great menu, delicious food, reasonable prices, attractive restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Same thing, different location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are in St. George and want hibachi cooked food you can try this. I had a noodle dish from the back. The rest of my party had hibachi. Nothing special. Basic stuff. Odd onion soup to begin. The ell roll had mayo or something creamy in it. I might go there there again, but only if someone made me.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.