We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Tabernacle

St. George Tabernacle
18 South Main St., St. George, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Attractions in St. George
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed walking around the outside of the building and admiring the architecture. We were there after the hours that tours were offered so we didn't like not being able to go inside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St. George Tabernacle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great historic place to visit. Most Sunday nights there are free concerts. Free tours are available throughout the week. Good to take a tour of the building to learn some of the history. Make return visits to enjoy concerts. The local news paper lists what concerts are being preformed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and building yet pushy with friends”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been here many times for free community concerts always lovely and nice that they let them use the building for community non religious events this is why I gave it a poor instead of a terrible. The reason I gave it a terrible is because we had friends come into visit and had a free tour they didn't want to climb the stairs because they were older couple and too steep. Volunteer tour guide was pushy from the start and kept asking them to take a Book of Mormon, give their information to have missionaries contact them. I was appalled and embarrassed that they were treated this way. These were friends visiting wanting to see the beautiful building not coming to join the religion. Let's just say that tour did not end well. I might come back to see friends perform in for the nonreligious events though I will never take a tour again and neither recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We learned much about the history of the building and the city from the excellent guides. Free organ concerts are performed each Saturday at noon by various talented organists. Also other musical and lecture programs are here throughout the week. This is a "don't miss" place to visit in St. George.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Free Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Attended a free concert of a four-person guitar group. Wife and I possibly the youngest in attendance, mostly handsome aged "snow birds" in attendance. Fun to see the inside of this beautifully historic building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Tabernacle also viewed

 

Been to St. George Tabernacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Tabernacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.