We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and building yet pushy with friends” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Tabernacle

St. George Tabernacle
18 South Main St., St. George, UT
4356284072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ellaville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and building yet pushy with friends”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been here many times for free community concerts always lovely and nice that they let them use the building for community non religious events this is why I gave it a poor instead of a terrible. The reason I gave it a terrible is because we had friends come into visit and had a free tour they didn't want to climb the stairs because they were older couple and too steep. Volunteer tour guide was pushy from the start and kept asking them to take a Book of Mormon, give their information to have missionaries contact them. I was appalled and embarrassed that they were treated this way. These were friends visiting wanting to see the beautiful building not coming to join the religion. Let's just say that tour did not end well. I might come back to see friends perform in for the nonreligious events though I will never take a tour again and neither recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We learned much about the history of the building and the city from the excellent guides. Free organ concerts are performed each Saturday at noon by various talented organists. Also other musical and lecture programs are here throughout the week. This is a "don't miss" place to visit in St. George.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Free Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Attended a free concert of a four-person guitar group. Wife and I possibly the youngest in attendance, mostly handsome aged "snow birds" in attendance. Fun to see the inside of this beautifully historic building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They give free tours and free concerts in this historic building. The pipe organ is great. It is a cozy place and the acoustics are good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved the short 30 minute tour. It is amazing to see and hear the history behind this building. Kept my kids attention.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Tabernacle also viewed

 

Been to St. George Tabernacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Tabernacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.