We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artists village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayenta

Kayenta
800 North Kayenta Pkwy, St. George, UT
435 628-7234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Attractions in St. George
Type: Neighborhoods
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kayenta Community, in southern Utah's red rock country, is a tranquil enclave surrounded by protected lands.A 2,000 acre master planned community of fine homes, custom building sites and community amenities, is located 7 miles west of St. George, Utah. Kayenta is a unique departure from the norm, focused on moderate land use, moderate-sustainable growth, and an appreciation for our magnificent natural setting. Nearby, residents find adventure in the southwest's abundance of places to explore. Zion National Park, Snow Canyon and Bryce Canyon National Park are within view. While just beyond the horizon, adventure seekers will discover places like the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell and Las Vegas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Allendale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Artists village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful art & jewelry for sale in a unique setting. Cafe, sculpture, painting - definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent a lovely morning in Kayenta, near St. George and Ivins. The homes are absolutely gorgeous, the community is peaceful, and the little shops & galleries were awesome. We had coffee in a great little shop there. If you are a casual hiker the trails are great! I could definitely see myself living there and plan to go back again and again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Concept, Half Formed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can see what they are trying to achieve, and it is a really cool idea: an artist's commune meant to be more sustainable, and built to look more like a part of the landscape. But it is a very inactive area that seems to have failed to attract the attention it deserves.

Still, it is in a beautiful area that will spark the creativity of anyone. The shops/galleries have some gorgeous pieces, including affordable, handmade items like jewelry and glass figures. We picked up a cute glass bird and a nightlight for our children. If I had a few thousand bucks to spare, I would have been piling my car with originals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kayenta is an average town...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Kayenta is a town in St. George by Ivins. If you are looking for a place to hike, I would recommend forgetting about going here and driving about an hour to the Zions national park. The scenery down there is beautiful and it's worth the drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful scenery and nice, easy hiking areas. A really great place to relax and enjoy life! I would love to live here!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.