We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Art Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Center for the Arts

Pioneer Center for the Arts
St. George, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 26 attractions in St. George
St. George, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A restored block of pioneer buildings. Includes the Opera House, the Social Hall and the Art Museum. Not large but nice history lesson in three old but restored buildings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local talent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Beautiful art work for a little town that takes 2nd fiddle to Vegas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pioneer Center for the ARts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice for adults as you can take time to walk around and visit, but probably not the greatest place for kids

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Historical and easy to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I like to visit St. George during their heritage days each January. There are always performances, exhibits and other celebrations. This year, 2012, was noteworthy as the city was celebrating its sesquicentennial. Pioneer Center for the Arts was the location for several celebratory events. The center was originally built in 1872, and has been renovated and restored while retaining its original pioneer character. There are three buildings at the Center. The mayor and city commissioners served free root beer floats and cookies on January 14th in the Social Hall. This is an annual tradition. People could sit in the social hall and enjoy their refreshments and hear a string quartet. I went to two performances in the Opera House. It is a small structure that seats about 120 on folding chairs. The first performance was a Gilbert and Sullivan Festival by the Lieto Voices, conducted by Norman Lister. Early pioneer audiences enjoyed Gilbert and Sullivan, and so did the modern audience. The acoustics were wonderful, and the performers were excellent. Later I saw a one man show. Porter Rockwell Returns, by Larry Anderson. It was very well done too. Both performances were at no charge, but I had to go early to secure a seat. I was sorry I missed "Woman with Black Shawl," a one-woman play about Native Americans by Sharon French. There are events at the opera house all year, so check the schedule if you are in the area. I also visited the Art Museum, the third building in the Center. It is 10,000 square feet, and features permanent as well as traveling exhibits. It is open Tuesdays through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Adults are $2.00 and children are $1.00. During heritage days admission was free, and there were exhibits celebrating early pioneer life. There is a vibrant fine arts community in St. George with many private galleries and an arts center that teaches classes in weaving, sculpture, painting and other arts. The collection at the museum was robust and featured items comparable to those I have seen in larger and more famous museums. Parking is free at Pioneer Center, and there was ample parking even during special events because people could also park on the street at no charge.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Center for the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.