We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in St. George!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
346 N. Main St, St. George, UT 84770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
Las Vegas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise in St. George!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay while we went to see some plays at Tuacahn with our grandson. Our favorite type of accomodation is a bed & breakfast whenever possible, so I went online & discovered the Quicksand & Cactus Bed & Breakfast right in the heart of St. George.

We arrived on Friday afternoon to find a very pleasant older home that had been beautifully renovated. Our host Carla Fox welcomed us with a big smile & made us feel right at home. It was a very comfortable room with an adjoining room for our grandson. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there & can I just say that our breakfasts were absolutely phenomenal!! Carla outdid herself in the kitchen & when a 12 year old raves about the food...you know it's terrific!!

Carla has created a beatiful retreat that is small & intimate, but close to everything of interest in the area. Tuacahn was only about a 15 minute drive away & I might add the plays were just outstanding! Another plus was that the rates were very reasonable & even if there were no breakfast included it would have been a great deal. However, adding in the delicious food was just like yummy frosting on a very attractive cake. Kudos to you Carla for a wonderful experience...we will be back!!

Room Tip: This is a small bed & breakfast so not a lot of rooms available...don't wait until the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a fabulous Bed & Breakfast! My husband and I had a wonderful stay in this beautiful historic home. It's so comfortable and cozy that we felt right at home. Carla is an incredibly gracious and thoughtful hostess. Her gourmet breakfast is positively delicious. Great location, within walking distance of St. George's downtown attractions. Rates are unbelievably reasonable. The home has a fascinating history and beautiful gardens. We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was attracted to Quicksand and Cactus B&B because it was the former home of well-known Utah author Juanita Brooks. My husband and I fell in love with the place because of the warm, friendly demeanor of Carla, our host, her delicious breakfasts, and the beautifully-decorated home. We stayed in the room that had served as the original home, and it is located just off to the side of the main living area. Carla has lots of books and information about Utah history in her home, and the entire house is decorated with Victorian era pictures, decorations, etc. Her breakfasts were delicious, and when she found out we (and several other guests) were "foodies", she tried out a couple of new recipes on us! We stayed there several days, using St George as our home port while exploring Zion, the Mountain Meadows Massacre site, and the Hildale/Colorado City area made famous by Warren Jeffs and his FLDS followers.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but when I tried to correct my mistake (I was giving the place all positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were in town for the St. George marathon in early October 2012. We were late in the game at setting up our lodging for the race. All of the chain hotels were full by the time we started looking. We stumbled across this nice little B&B. The location was just blocks from the finish line, the price was HALF of what we would have paid for a hotel, and the breakfast was amazing!

We stayed in Bedroom #2. It is the smallest of the 3 rooms available at the location, but it worked well for the two of us. Private entrance, private bathroom. Bed was pretty good. There was a nice TV in the room, but we never bothered to turn it on.

Breakfast on Sunday morning after the race was amazing! Carla, the owner, fixed us crepes stuffed with scrambled eggs and fresh asparagus and covered in cheese and a yummy sauce. Then she brought out some ham steaks, fresh sliced oranges and yogurt, and a warm chocolate muffin. Fresh coffee and orange juice finished off delicious breakfast. All the other guests had run the race the day before so it was fun to chat about our marathon experiences.

What a fun gem to discover in St. George and at an amazing price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I live in Las Vegas, and we wanted to take a trip for our anniversary. We didn't want to travel super far, but still wanted it to be special. We chose the Quicksand and Cactus in St. George because it was small, quiet, and had great reviews. It's prices also beat out the other B&B's in the area, and since we were on a budget, this was a consideration.

Carla was a very kind and accommodating host. Her breakfasts were huge and beautiful both mornings, with fresh fruit, waffles or french toast, an egg quiche, and meat. It was such a treat for us, and even my husband couldn't eat it all! :) We stayed in Room #1, which is part of the original brick house. The bed was comfortable and the room was decorated with all kinds of neat antiques. There was also a flat screen tv with lots of channels. The bathroom was spacious and also very cute. There is only a free-standing tub (no shower), but it had a flexible shower nozzle attachment for rinsing off.

The B&B was definitely very quiet, and it was in a very convenient location. Being on Main Street, we spent our first evening walking around and exploring all the unique shops, restaurants, and art that downtown St. George has to offer.

This was our first time in a bed and breakfast, and we had a very pleasant stay. I would stay at the Quicksand and Cactus again, and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't forget the change of time zone! We forgot that Utah was an hour later and ended up arrivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had the priviledge of staying with Carla at the Quicksand and Cactus while attending the Ironman St George in early May. Carla was gracious and accomodating, made us feel like part of the family. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend the Quicksand and Cactus to travelers, golfers, and sightseers. It's a quiet and comfortable oasis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay while in St. George for the Ironman triathlon that I was competing in on May 5, 2012. After calling numerous hotels and B&B's in the area, I came upon Quicksand and Cactus B&B while on the internet. The house was just up the street from downtown and a great location to all restaurants and festivities that would be going on that weekend. Nearly all other places were booked and I was surprised when Carla (owner/wonderful hostess) informed me that she still had a couple rooms available. I quickly reserved two rooms for my family and me, and what a good decision that was. The house is a couple of blocks from downtown, on a beautiful hill with a great view of the city. Our room was great, with a comfortable bed on the second floor and a wonderful soaking-tub on the bottom floor. With all my gear for the triathlon, the room was an ideal size. In terms of hospitality, Carla was fantastic; accommodating our weird schedule for meals and delicious food to boot. If you are heading to St. George and want to stay in a unique, historical and comfortable place, with a great hostess and delicious food, Quicksand is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast

Address: 346 N. Main St, St. George, UT 84770
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have a private entrance, bath, queen bed, and TV/cable. The home is centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from St. George's Historic District, art galleries, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quicksand And Cactus Bed & Breakfast St. George, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quicksand and Cactus Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.