We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Convention Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie Convention Center
1835 Convention Center Dr., St. George, UT 84790
(435) 628-7003
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 attractions in St. George
Type: Convention Centers
Attraction Details
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Conference fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was down for a conference and was impressed with the ease of location, the wi-fi, the actual decor and arrangement of the facility for ease. I wish there was more out door seating for breaks and such. Most people were sitting against the walls and on planters. Along with they need a designated smoking area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK but not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff seemed bored and put out if we asked for anything. There were a few small children present and they continually told them to be quiet and go in the kids room. The kids were not bothering any one and the staff seemed very harsh with them.

We were a small group and it appeared they were rushing us to get out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our group of approx. 350 people utilized the Dixie Convention Center all day starting at 6am for setup until 8pm for close of business. The Center's staff was helpful with setting up mutliple ballrooms and conference rooms, setting up chairs and tables, and making every effort to accomodate our needs.

Some of our group utilized the Concession area which had some excellent turkey & cheese sandwiches with lettuce and tomato on homemade bread.

A dinner for approx. 70 guests was served and a cash bar was provided. The servers and attendants were very gracious, helpful and not intursive. The food provided by the center included barbecue chicken breasts and shredded pork barbecue, salad, veggies, breads and dessert. The food was excellent and everyone was very satisfied with the meal.

We did not use even half of the available rooms at the center so it should easily handle many more guests that we had. Clean bathrooms and comfortable chairs were certainly a plus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all- there is one doorway in the entire center inside that you may enter for the tournament. There are many older people, my father being one, who found this extra walking very painful. I had two brothers and my husband who entered, and although they are in good health, found the extra walking a major inconvenience. There are many more sets of doors they could have opened to make the long hike more bearable. The building itself is fairly attractive, but not really convenient for getting around. The sale of beer was only open for a few hours inside the playing area, but sales stopped each night at 7:00pm. The players and spectators for the evening shift were extremely upset, since they pitched from 7-10pm. No bathroom facilities inside playing area either, so depending on which court you played on, you may have a five minute walk to use the restroom, and would have to run back to prevent a delay in your game. Had we known the set up for the World Horseshoe Tournament ahead of time, chances are, we would not have come.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las VEgas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We attended a convention here and the cold cement floors with the uncomfortable chairs and horrible sound made the day just drag on. I hope to never come back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dixie Convention Center to your Saves list