We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Convention Center

Dixie Convention Center
1835 Convention Center Dr., St. George, UT 84790
(435) 628-7003
Update attraction details
Ranked #13 of 24 attractions in St. George
Type: Convention Centers
Attraction Details
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all- there is one doorway in the entire center inside that you may enter for the tournament. There are many older people, my father being one, who found this extra walking very painful. I had two brothers and my husband who entered, and although they are in good health, found the extra walking a major inconvenience. There are many more sets of doors they could have opened to make the long hike more bearable. The building itself is fairly attractive, but not really convenient for getting around. The sale of beer was only open for a few hours inside the playing area, but sales stopped each night at 7:00pm. The players and spectators for the evening shift were extremely upset, since they pitched from 7-10pm. No bathroom facilities inside playing area either, so depending on which court you played on, you may have a five minute walk to use the restroom, and would have to run back to prevent a delay in your game. Had we known the set up for the World Horseshoe Tournament ahead of time, chances are, we would not have come.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las VEgas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We attended a convention here and the cold cement floors with the uncomfortable chairs and horrible sound made the day just drag on. I hope to never come back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SNAUtah Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like the layout of the conference center; it was easy to find the rooms for our classes. Plenty of restrooms were available. We had a catered lunch and dinner; the food was ok. The only down side was a few of the rooms had trouble with the air conditioning, so switches had to be made, since it was 100 degrees outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Coins for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

They store, organize and wrap all the gifts at the Dixie Convention Center. It was huge and I couldn't believe how big of a space that they had. They staff was very kind and the restrooms are so clean and very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“goldwing convention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff did an amazing job meeting all of the over 500 attendees for our convention., It is a remarkable facility.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.