We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...clean....new...NICE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham St. George to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utah
1 review
“Great Stay...clean....new...NICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights on business/leisure and what a great stay it was. It is a brand new hotel with great beds...clean...new...nice hotel. The hot breakfast was great for the family each morning with great selections and the staff was very helpful and professional. We will be staying there every month we are in town. Very affordable. Nice pool and hot tub as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, January 31, 2015
Thank you again, for allowing us the opportunity to provide our service and hospitality to you during your stay with us at the Wingate by Wyndham. We are very please that you gave us the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have here in lovely St. George and we do understand that their is a lot of choices and we are extremely happy you choose us. We hope to see you again very soon have a wonderful day!!


Sincerely,

Tim James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    186
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
257
158
24
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
irisrose
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We spent a night at the Wingate on a return trip home from California. It's a very nice hotel. We had double queen and had a good amount of room for all of us. We have 3 little boys and had our Aero Bed with us for the 3rd child to sleep on. We even had room for that. The rooms are a very nice contemporary theme. Dark woods, blue and brown upholstery and bedding. We had a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave in the room. The beds were comfortable and best of all it was QUIET! I don't know if that was due to the structure of the hotel or the fact that the hotel wasn't crowded. But it was nice to have a quiet night's sleep after a long drive.

The hotel pool is pretty small. Fortunately there weren't many kids or families using the pool the evening we were there. Otherwise it would be pretty crowded. But the kids had a great time and the water is warmed nicely to allow for long, long swimming without getting cold. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, and then the rest of the standard breakfast fare - cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast etc. The breakfast was well stocked.

All in all, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. St. George is a good half-way point between many destinations. Our rooms are larger compared to the standard hotel room which gives great space for a family or someone who enjoys their space. We hope to see you on your next trip and hope that you have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My family and I spent three nights at the Wyndham over July 24th. Andy, Rex, Steve and the other staff were always ready to greet us with welcoming smiles and plenty suggestions for things to keep us busy. The hotel was very clean and well appointed with larger than average rooms. The pool area was great for my young children (6 and 10). And best of all, the price was well below what one would expect to pay for this kind of quality. I would strongly recommend the St. George Wyndham to friends and family. Thanks for your hospitality, The Murray Family

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
It is great when you can remember the associates that helped you in all ways during your stay here at the Wingate by Wyndham. Our staff love to see their names in comments such as these and it only makes them want to strive to be better with the next guest interaction. We are truly pleased to hear that your family had a great time. We have great quality for a great price! Thanks for the Great comment Murray Family and we hope to see you in St. George again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Az
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

If you are reading this you must put stock in traveler reviews. I wanted everyone to know what a great find this hotel is. From the first encounter with Rex, the assistant manager, one feels like they are talking to someone in the family who wants to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The suites are large and can fit a family of four very well. The free breakfast is outstanding as well. Finally, we travel often and have stayed in Cedar City and Mesquite and now will make St. George our stop because of the hospitality this hotel offers. Thanks Rex and the Wingate staff for your for making our vacation that much better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
We love to hear that St. George will now be your stop coming through Southern Utah. Our associates do trully make your stay as comfortable as possible. That is why we have great associates like Rex that give guests like you an opportunity to experience true hospitality. We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay at the Wingate by Wyndham in St. George, UT and hope to see you again in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The wingate inn is a great choice if staying in St George (especially after getting an awesome rate via a travel website). The hotel is new and very clean and comfortable. The lobby is very modern and super clean. The room was above average and pretty large. The king bed was very comfortable and the room also had a love seat, chair and a desk as well as a lcd tv. Their was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Can't ask for much more in a room. The hotel's pool/spa was nice and their is also comp breakfast in the morning. The only negative was that from the room we were in we could hear a lot of noise from the breakfast area since we were close to the little atrium. I would recommend asking for a room away from that area or on the 3rd or 4th floor. I would still definitely stay here or at other wingate inn's again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
Thanks for choosing the Wingate by Wyndham as your choice of hotel when visiting St. George, UT. Our hotel just passed its 9 month anniversary of being open in St. George. We offer great rates for a great hotel. Give us a call and we will be sure to give you the best available rate next time. Thanks for the photos of the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

When the airconditioner started up, I thought there was an airplane in the room. Had to get up and turn it off, as there is only one speed - noisy! . There is no reason except low cost to use cheap through the wall AC units in a nice hotel. The guest suffers.

Leaf blowers used by gardeners at 6:30 am are not a pleasant sound when you are trying to sleep. When advised, front desk staff claimed no knowledge and said that the gardeners were hired by the center, not them so they had no control.

Room was very nice, breakfast area and food were also very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskSup, Assistant Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
Thank you for your comments, I would like to let you know that once I was notified about the gardeners I contacted the Courtyard Assocation. They have talked with the gardeners and they will no longer be working that early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed over 4th of July and visited Zion Nat'l Park. We work for an upscale hotel and this is one of the nicest I've stayed in. Brand new. The rooms are beautiful. Modern decor, granite countertops, and awesom beds. The pool is small, but our kids loved it. The website said it was heated, but it definitely wasn't! The free breakfast is also great, especially for families. Make your own waffles, bagels, english muffins, eggs, bacon, yogurt, juices, etc. I believe the hotel caters more to business travels because it wasn't very busy over the weekend. This made it even better! I highly recommend this hotel. Only 45 mins to Zion.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
1st and foremost we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay here at the Wingate by Wyndham in St. George, UT. I must admit that the pool at 84 degrees does feel cool when the air temperature is 105 degrees. Trust me I know! This hotel is great because we are able to cater to the business travelers on the weekdays and then to the families on the weekends that come to visit Southern Utah and all that it has to offer such as the National Parks. Thanks for the great comment and we hope to see you again at the Wingate by Wyndham in beautiful St. George, UT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.