We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like an Upscale 3*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham St. George to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tehachapi, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Felt Like an Upscale 3*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is only my 2nd Wingate stay and this property continued my good feeling about the chain. Check in felt slightly upscale with a pleasant lobby and helpful, friendly desk clerk. Rooms have dark brown hues and marble accents which are appealing to my taste, especially here in Red Rock country. Flat screen TV and 37-channel selection that included Fox News but not MSNBC...and 3 ESPN stations. Complimentary parking, internet, in-room coffee (Wolfgang Puck pods), mini refrigerator and microwave all provided. Our 1st room was 222 but we found the lock did not secure the door tightly, so they relocated us to 409 which felt about 20% bigger (with same 2-bed configuration). I am assuming 4th floor has larger rooms. Outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and good temperatures, though it felt weird to have to go to the front desk to obtain the pool towels (which I assume have had some prior theft problems?) Tip: excellent bottled water is in the exercise room if you are refilling your water bottles. Complimentary breakfast was the nicest surprise as it offered freshly scrambled eggs with real sausages or bacon and several selections of yogurt (along with the usual juices, cereals, and coffee). They even kept the yogurt and cereal available for over an hour past the posted breakfast time ... and coffee available all day. Pillows are small and square so you have to stack the 3 or 4 of them at times...A/C had about a 3 minute delay from the time I set it to to the time it kicked in. As others have noted it is a little hard to find using the Brigham Rd exit off the I-15 (west of freeway and several interesting traffic circles). It is an easy walk thru the courtyard to a fun Mexican restaurant, Peppers....and Walmart just a parking lot away. I did park under a small tree and found sap on the windshield the next day, so beware of this nusiance. We stayed 2 nts here and 2 nts at the Country Inn in St. George and would come back here first if price and location were not significant factors. The Wingate neighborhood is much quieter and easier to navigate, as it is on the south entrance to St.George one exit shy of the Dixie Convention Center.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms seems about 20% larger. Some rooms have nice view of pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the great, in-depth review! I am so glad that you were able to get the 'full-experience' at the Wingate - St. George. Please come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    187
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
257
159
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

CLEANLINESS: Night we arrived, there was a lot of wind and some rain. This left the pool dirty. We told front desk person who said she would take care of it right away. It was still that way the next day. LOCATIONX: The hotel is not well marked and not easy to find. SLEEP QUALITY: The square pillows didn't work for one of our party--just not enough pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you posting your review. We love our mature trees but they can make a mess in the pool when the wind picks-up. I am sorry that we didn't take care of that the first time you brought it to our attention. Thank you for staying with us!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We checked in late and was given a room on the main floor, as the clerk said they were really booked solid. Well, the room was really cold w/the A/C on, so we turned it off and as we sat in the room for about an hour, we noticed a horrible smell. It smelled like dog or cat urine as the room got warmer. It was really bad and started to affect my throat. So, I went to the lobby and told them at the front desk and they couldn't believe it, as no cat's or dog's are allowed in the hotel. Whatever it was , it was not good. So, they moved us to another room. The carpeting really needs replaced in the hallways and the rooms. It was pretty disgusting and a big grease mark right outside the the second room they assigned to us. Otherwise, the rooms were clean and they did respond to our concern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so sorry for the issues that you had to experience while you were here. We have just removed the air unit from each room and cleaned them. We also just had our carpets professionally cleaned. We appreciate your feedback. Please come and see us again to see the improvements we are making.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service was great, the rooms were in excellent conditions, the beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was very good. While it was not close to downtown, there are a lot of businesses and restaurants around.

I believe it was designed more for business travelers, and the swimming pool was rather small. There were a lot of families with little kids, so we did not get a chance to use the pool.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, and the accomodations were much better than expected from hotels within that price range. We will definitely stay there again, if we ever go to the St. George area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLINTON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not knowing what to expect when I booked the room, I was quite surprised to see that it was the same quality of hotel that my company books for me when I travel. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel! I hope that you will stay with us again on leisure and on business.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. Everything was clean and nice.
Breakfast was very good also.
The staff was very helpful.
My granddaughter enjoyed the pool.
If we ever go through St. George again we will probably stop and stay at this hotel.
The rooms were large and nice.

Room Tip: This hotel is in walking distance to the WalMart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your kind comments. Please come and see us again!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great staff and hotel accomadations were above average, definetly would come back and recommend this facility to friends and business partners

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you, we love our great people that work here! I'm so glad that you had a good experience. Please come and stay again!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.